The Day the Crayons Quit - Drew Daywalt & Oliver Jeffers

The Day the Crayons Quit

By Drew Daywalt & Oliver Jeffers

  • Release Date - Published: 2013-06-27
  • Book Genre: Colors
  • Author: Drew Daywalt & Oliver Jeffers
Our rating: 5/5 stars

4.5 Score: 4.5 (From 566 Ratings)

The Day the Crayons Quit Drew Daywalt & Oliver Jeffers read online review & book description:

The hilarious, colorful #1 New York Times bestselling phenomenon that every kid wants! Gift a copy to someone you love today.

Poor Duncan just wants to color. But when he opens his box of crayons, he finds only letters, all saying the same thing: His crayons have had enough! They quit! Blue crayon needs a break from coloring all those bodies of water. Black crayon wants to be used for more than just outlining.  And Orange and Yellow are no longer speaking—each believes he is the true color of the sun. What can Duncan possibly do to appease all of the crayons and get them back to doing what they do best?

With giggle-inducing text from Drew Daywalt and bold and bright illustrations from Oliver Jeffers, The Day the Crayons Quit is the perfect gift for new parents, baby showers, back-to-school, or any time of year! Perfect for fans of Don't Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus by Mo Willems and The True Story of the Three Little Pigs by Jon Sciezka and Lane Smith. 

Praise for The Day the Crayons Quit:

Amazon’s 2013 Best Picture Book of the Year
A Barnes & Noble Best Book of 2013
Goodreads’ 2013 Best Picture Book of the Year 
Winner of the E.B. White Read-Aloud Award

* “Hilarious . . . Move over, Click, Clack, Moo; we’ve got a new contender for the most successful picture-book strike.” –BCCB, starred review 

“Jeffers . . . elevates crayon drawing to remarkable heights.” –Booklist

“Fresh and funny.” –The Wall Street Journal

"This book will have children asking to have it read again and again.” –Library Media Connection

* “This colorful title should make for an uproarious storytime.” –School Library Journal, starred review 

* “These memorable personalities will leave readers glancing apprehensively at their own crayon boxes.” –Publishers Weekly, starred review 

“Utterly original.” –San Francisco Chronicle

@2019 – Go Read a Book. All Right Reserved. goreadabook.org is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for website owners, to earn advertising fees by linking and advertising to amazon.com and any other website that may be affiliated with Amazon Service LLC Associates Program; As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

The Day the Crayons Quit book review The Day the Crayons Quit ePUB; Drew Daywalt & Oliver Jeffers; Colors books.

Posted Reviews

  • Best childhood book ever!!!

    5
    By BESTAPPEVER!!😎😝😜😍😍🥰
    This book was the best when I was in elementary and my teachers would read it all the time. I still remember it and it’s the best!!!
  • One of my favs

    5
    By Better with computer
    I really like this book I read it in school and I really enjoyed it
  • Personification at its best!!!!

    5
    By Madame dictionary
    Very creative!
  • The day the crayons quit

    5
    By Scott95100
    This book is awesome
  • Hilarious book with a great message

    5
    By Geoffrey_meditator_
    Our favorite children's book, by far!
  • So good

    5
    By Blazeisamaze
    My son and I love this book. It is our favorite book we read it every night before he goes to bed. This book is perfect.
  • The Day the Crayons Quit

    5
    By akelaalta
    My second graders thought this book was a hit!
  • Great book

    5
    By iNDy12
    Fun
  • Great Book for the First Week of School

    4
    By Emmy's Mommy😄
    Very creative story! I plan on using this book for the first week of school for my Kindergarten class. I want the students to take care of their supplies and use them correctly. This book will really get them thinking about how they use their crayons and creativity. We can also revisit this book for character point of view and letter writing.
  • Cute, kid witty & funny!

    5
    By Yana2003
    Everyone who colors will relate to this book. The illustrations are cute & simple, but with 1,000 words. I'll probably have to read this every night for a while. Nice job!

Post a review about this book