The Christmas List - Richard Paul Evans

The Christmas List

By Richard Paul Evans

  • Release Date - Published: 2009-10-06
  • Book Genre: Fiction & Literature
  • Author: Richard Paul Evans
Our rating: 5/5 stars

4.5 Score: 4.5 (From 45 Ratings)

The Christmas List Richard Paul Evans read online review & book description:

A heartwarming and inspirational Christmas novel in the tradition of The Christmas Box, Grace, The Gift, and Finding Noel. The New York Times bestselling author of The Christmas Box and The Walk series returns with a holiday novel of hope, love, and redemption.

Dear Reader,

When I was in seventh grade, my English teacher, Mrs. Johnson, gave our class the intriguing (if somewhat macabre) assignment of writing our own obituaries. Oddly, I don't remember much of what I wrote about my life, but I do remember how I died: in first place on the final lap of the Daytona 500. At the time, I hadn't considered writing as an occupation, a field with a remarkably low on-the-job casualty rate.

What intrigues me most about Mrs. Johnson's assignment is the opportunity she gave us to confront our own legacy. How do we want to be remembered? That question has motivated our species since the beginning of time: from building pyramids to putting our names on skyscrapers.

As I began to write this book, I had two objectives: First, I wanted to explore what could happen if someone read their obituary before they died and saw, firsthand, what the world really thought of them. Their legacy.

Second, I wanted to write a Christmas story of true redemption. One of my family's holiday traditions is to see a local production of Charles Dickens's A Christmas Carol. I don't know how many times I've seen it (perhaps a dozen), but it still thrills me to see the change that comes over Ebenezer Scrooge as he transforms from a dull, tight-fisted miser into a penitent, "giddy-as-aschoolboy" man with love in his heart. I always leave the show with a smile on my face and a resolve to be a better person. That's what I wanted to share with you, my dear readers, this Christmas -- a holiday tale to warm your season, your homes, and your hearts.

Merry Christmas

@2019 – Go Read a Book. All Right Reserved. goreadabook.org is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for website owners, to earn advertising fees by linking and advertising to amazon.com and any other website that may be affiliated with Amazon Service LLC Associates Program; As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

The Christmas List book review The Christmas List ePUB; Richard Paul Evans; Fiction & Literature books.

Posted Reviews

  • Amazing

    5
    By JosieMarie13
    It was an incredible reading. A roller coaster of emotions filled with tears, laughs, hatred, and pity. A must read every Christmas.
  • The Christmas List

    5
    By TouchVestor
    The Christmas List is the second Evans book (Grace was the first), that our family has read aloud during the holiday season. Life, by devine design, presents many opportunities to discover the Grace of God. Every so often an author comes along who can tell a story, teach a lesson and entertain the heart, mind and soul simultaniously. Richard Paul Evans is one such author. He allows the heart to laugh while the eyes tear, reflecting the trials of our earthly boarding school existence, while the superintendant of love watches over us. I highly recommend this book. JC Calkins, Christian author and nature photographer.

Post a review about this book