Coward Plays: 1 - Noël Coward

Coward Plays: 1

By Noël Coward

  • Release Date - Published: 2013-06-06
  • Book Genre: Theater
  • Author: Noël Coward
Our rating: 5/5 stars

Score: (From 0 Ratings)

Coward Plays: 1 Noël Coward read online review & book description:

This first volume in the Coward Collection contains four plays written within a two year period when Coward
and the century were still in their 20s. The volume is introduced by Sheridan Morley,
Coward's first biographer.

Hay Fever, a comedy of bad
manners, concerns a weekend with friends of the Bliss family, who have
all been invited independently for a weekend at their country house
near Maidenhead. The Vortex
was a controversial drama in its time, introducing drug-addiction onto
the stage at a time when alcoholism was barely mentioned. Fallen Angels, which is written for two star actresses
was described as 'degenerate', 'vile', 'obscene', 'shocking' - the
second half of the play is entirely taken up with an alcoholic duologue
between the two women. Easy Virtue is an elegant, laconic tribute to a
lost world of drawing-room dramas, no other writer went more directly
to the jugular of that moralistic, tight-lipped but fundamentally
hypocritical 20s society.

"He is simply a phenomenon, and one that is unlikely to occur ever
again in theatre history" Terence Rattigan

@2019 – Go Read a Book. All Right Reserved. is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for website owners, to earn advertising fees by linking and advertising to and any other website that may be affiliated with Amazon Service LLC Associates Program; As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Coward Plays: 1 book review Coward Plays: 1 ePUB; Noël Coward; Theater books.

Post a review about this book