Where the Crawdads Sing - Delia Owens

Where the Crawdads Sing

By Delia Owens

  • Release Date - Published: 2018-08-14
  • Book Genre: Literary
  • Author: Delia Owens
Our rating: 5/5 stars

4.5 Score: 4.5 (From 22,917 Ratings)

Where the Crawdads Sing Delia Owens read online review & book description:

#1 New York Times Bestseller
More than 4 million copies sold
A Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick

"I can't even express how much I love this book! I didn't want this story to end!"--Reese Witherspoon

"Painfully beautiful."--The New York Times Book Review

"Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver."--Bustle

For years, rumors of the "Marsh Girl" have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Then the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. When two young men from town become intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new life--until the unthinkable happens.

Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Karen Russell, Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder. Owens reminds us that we are forever shaped by the children we once were, and that we are all subject to the beautiful and violent secrets that nature keeps.

@2019 – Go Read a Book. All Right Reserved. goreadabook.org is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for website owners, to earn advertising fees by linking and advertising to amazon.com and any other website that may be affiliated with Amazon Service LLC Associates Program; As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Where the Crawdads Sing book review Where the Crawdads Sing ePUB; Delia Owens; Literary books.

Posted Reviews

  • Great!

    4
    By lsro1920
    Some parts were slow, but this is such a great book. It’s a tear jerker and a page turner. I really enjoyed the story from beginning to end. It’s a tale of great love and loss.
  • Good not great

    4
    By Okay lo
    The second half is great, the first half is slow. Overall good read
  • Where the Crawdads Sing

    5
    By Mirmoe
    I resisted this book for quite the while. The description sounded depressing, the title quite peculiar (don’t judge a book by its...) but then a member of my book club selected this novel all while raving over how good a read it was. I became a captive audience... and then a captivated reader and subsequently HUGE promoter of Where the Crawdads Sing. The intriguing mystery, while a prominent plot line, is shored up with fascinating character development and themes of kindness, perseverance, family, destiny and passion. A true page turner!
  • Loved it!

    5
    By SSS82902
    Thought provoking, emotional and raw!
  • Excellent, fast easy read

    5
    By DebAff
    I really enjoyed this book. She made an implausible plot line seem believable, and you really rooted for Kya throughout the story.
  • Where the Crawdads sing

    5
    By Jalex78
    Wasn’t sure at first. My wife and I were looking for something to read together and she found this one with good reviews. It turned out to be a great story and I would recommend it. It’s has no problem pulling the reader in with great story telling!
  • Unforgettable

    5
    By NovelThisErica
    One of the G.O.A.T
  • Up there with The Goldfinch

    5
    By Brilliant...not
    Amazing, nuanced and murky...
  • Fabulous

    5
    By 10-28-16
    I don't do a lot of fiction reading except for when I go on vacations. I love a book I can't put down. This one was incredible. Loved every minute of it. One of my favorite books ever.
  • Perfect.

    5
    By Amber Ash
    Great and easy read.

Post a review about this book