Source: Publisher

Divider

ARC Review: Forever and Always, Lara Jean

May 8, 2017 Reviews, Young Adult 1 ★★★★

ARC Review: Forever and Always, Lara JeanAlways and Forever, Lara Jean (To All the Boys I've Loved Before, #3) by Jenny Han
on May 2nd 2017
Source: Publisher
Also by this author: P.S. I Still Love You (To All the Boys I've Loved Before, #2)
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository
Goodreads
four-stars

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Lara Jean’s letter-writing days aren’t over in this surprise follow-up to the New York Times bestselling To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before and P.S. I Still Love You.
Lara Jean is having the best senior year a girl could ever hope for. She is head over heels in love with her boyfriend, Peter; her dad’s finally getting remarried to their next door neighbor, Ms. Rothschild; and Margot’s coming home for the summer just in time for the wedding.
But change is looming on the horizon. And while Lara Jean is having fun and keeping busy helping plan her father’s wedding, she can’t ignore the big life decisions she has to make. Most pressingly, where she wants to go to college and what that means for her relationship with Peter. She watched her sister Margot go through these growing pains. Now Lara Jean’s the one who’ll be graduating high school and leaving for college and leaving her family—and possibly the boy she loves—behind.
When your heart and your head are saying two different things, which one should you listen to?

So this review is really difficult to write. This series is very popular and I know that a lot of people who love it haven’t gotten the opportunity to read it yet. I’ve had the book for almost two months now, but put off reading it because I just really didn’t want the series to be over. Anyway, I’m struggling with how to write this review and how much I should reveal about the plot itself and my feelings on it. I know people aren’t as worried about spoilers for this one like they are with Sarah J. Maas’s series, but I still want to be careful and understanding for the fans out there. I’m not going to reveal any major plot points, still read with caution I suppose. I really liked this one! It was probably one of my favorites of the series, though the second book was amazing as well. I’m not sure how necessary it was to have a third book, though it was awesome as always to get the chance to be reunited with Lara Jean’s family for at least a little while. I have a feeling you guys will be very pleased with how Jenny Han closes out her beloved series.

Whether you love or hate her, Lara Jean is Lara Jean. She’s a teenage girl who is far from perfect, and that’s what makes her so easy to relate to. Her awkward moments are sincerely cringe-worthy, but we’ve all been there in some ways. In this book specifically, you can tell that she’s grown and changed a lot as a person. At times though, she does seem really young to me. Just some of the things she says doesn’t always seem fitting for an 18 year old, in my opinion. I do love how passionate she is about baking. This girl bakes A LOT in this book. I don’t remember her doing it as much in the other books, but she does it as a stress reliever specifically in this book.

Peter is probably one of my favorite book boyfriends. I love how he’s a jock, but he’s not your stereotypical jock. He’s a pretty complex guy, and he’s developed into such a different person throughout the series. It’s probably no surprise to you if you read P.S. I Still Like You that she chooses to be with Peter. I was honestly shocked that there are some fans out there who didn’t like her with Peter and wanted her with John Ambrose (or whatever his name is) instead. I’m one of those people who feels like Peter is the only guy out there for Lara Jean at this point in her life, and that’s all I have to say about that.

Family is a pretty big theme in this book. I absolutely adore Lara Jean’s little sister Kitty. She’s always been the total comic relief in the series, and that definitely doesn’t change in this one. She’s still as endearing and as hilarious as ever. I also thought her bond with Peter and her dad’s girlfriend was so sweet. I’ve seen some people say this already, but Lara Jean’s older sister Margot just gets on my nerves. I didn’t have a major problem in the other books, but she was just so ridiculously selfish here. There was also one specific scene where she was just being downright disrespectful to her dad and I didn’t appreciate that at all. I get that there was a lot of changes that happened while she was away in another country, but that’s still no excuse to behave the way she did in that situation. That being said, I really do enjoy the bond that Lara Jean’s father shares with all three of his daughters. He’s such a remarkable father, and I just love his character in general.

Wow, I did a much better job than I thought I would about not giving too much away. This book is pretty much one big love letter to all of the fans of this series. Jenny Han does a good job at allowing us to say goodbye to this wonderful character one last time. That reminds me, there’s also a ton of Hamilton references in this, so you’ll appreciate the story even more if you’re a big fan of that musical. This ultimately fell a bit short of the 5 star mark for me. However, it was still a light and fun read. I can’t wait to see what everyone else thinks about Forever and Always, Lara Jean!

four-stars

Divider

The Wall of Winnipeg and Me Review

March 5, 2016 Reviews 0 ★★★★½

The Wall of Winnipeg and Me ReviewThe Wall of Winnipeg and Me by Mariana Zapata
on February 29th, 2016
Source: Publisher
Also by this author: Kulti
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository
Goodreads
four-half-stars
Vanessa Mazur knows she's doing the right thing. She shouldn't feel bad for quitting. Being an assistant/housekeeper/fairy godmother to the top defensive end in the National Football Organization was always supposed to be temporary. She has plans and none of them include washing extra-large underwear longer than necessary.
But when Aiden Graves shows up at her door wanting her to come back, she's beyond shocked.
For two years, the man known as The Wall of Winnipeg couldn't even find it in him to tell her good morning or congratulate her on her birthday. Now? He's asking for the unthinkable.
What do you say to the man who is used to getting everything he wants?

This book honestly surprised and impressed me in ways that I never expected it to. I never knew anything about the book prior to its release, but once I read the description, I knew immediately that this was my cup of tea. What am I a fan of? Books with football, fascinating heroes, badass heroines, a unique plot, and a memorable group of supporting characters. This book easily had all of these things and I strongly recommend it. I read Kulti by Zapata just a few months back and I was very mesmerized by the story and her writing. However, I actually ended up liking this one even more than the other. In a way, they have similar formats (which I’ll get into later on in the review) but the books were each written in a beautiful and captivating way. The Wall of Winnipeg and Me should be on your radar for sure!

From the beginning, Vanessa has a strong personality and she’s also a character that you sympathize with as well. At the start of the book, Vanessa has been Aiden’s assistant for the past two years but she desperately wants to peruse her passion for graphic design full time at some point. So she’s wanted to leave her job with Aiden, but she also feels a loyalty to him as well. After a terrible incident where Van believes that Aiden doesn’t appreciate all that she does like he should, she finally quits her job. Anyway, I guess what I like the most about our great MC is how she doesn’t take anyone’s crap. She doesn’t believe that Aiden deserves to get away with treating people badly. If he isn’t respecting others, he shouldn’t receive any respect back and I love that about her. She agrees to helping him out by marrying him because she really needed to pay off her student loans and he also said that he would buy her a house after the five years is up. I can understand this as a college student myself, I would definitely do the same thing if I was ever lucky enough to be in this situation. Vanessa had a difficult past to say the least. She was in foster care due to her mom being off and her being stuck with her evil sisters. Now, she attempts to build some sort of relationship with her biological mother but the issues are still pretty much there. She overcame her heavy past and was able to make something good out of her life and I truly respect that and enjoyed her character as a whole.

On the other side of things we have, Aiden, who is nicknamed “The Wall of Winnipeg.” He is a huge top defensive end who is notably one of the most famous players in the National Football Organization. Okay, before I get into anything about his character, I have to say that I was seriously confused by it being called the NFO since it’s actually the National Football League. So yeah, I was confused for awhile about this and it kind of bothered me at first, but that’s just me and I wanted to quickly point it out. When we are first introduced to him, we automatically dislike him. Honestly though, he isn’t all that rude to Van outright, but he isn’t overly friendly or respectful to her either. Gradually, we begin to see why he is the way he is and it’s impossible not to fall in love with him at that point. He doesn’t have many friends at all and he has never been in a real relationship since he’s too occupied with football. He hasn’t even “been” with a woman since high school, which I found to be interesting since football players are typically portrayed as mostly being manwhores. He is also a guy who is stereotype free. He’s from Canada (Winnipeg to be exact) which is a country most common for hockey, but he started playing football in high school thanks to a family friend (also the coach) who believed in him. The exact reason why he chose to play football instead of the more popular sport in his country is actually ridiculously sad but it will make you respect him a lot as a person. He turns to Vanessa when he needs to get married in order to stay in the U.S. because she understands him and knows him better than anyone. Secretly, he also has a ton of respect for her, he just doesn’t share that with her right off the bat!

If you’ve read anything from this author previously, you’ll know that she writes slow burn romances. Before I’d read Kulti, I was aware of the term and had even read some books that had claimed to have one, but none of them are at the level of slow burn as her work is. Meaning, sex doesn’t happen until the very end, more than 90% of the way through. I feel like this is interesting because it gives the characters so much time to get to know more about the other. They have time to actually become friends and open up to one another and not just have sex. Another perk to it not happening until the end is how awesome the build up is. You keep anticipating it, and once it finally hits, the big scene is still just as great as you hoped that it would be. The marriage part of the plot is what made it unique in my mind. I’m not going to lie, it did remind me some of the movie The Proposal, and the funny thing is that the author even has her MC make a reference to it. I wanted to see a little more of the fake marriage and how it was shown to the media and also interviews with immigration. Zapata chose to focus her story on other plots in the novel which still worked fabulously, but I just would’ve personally liked to see more of that. Another interesting element to this relationship was that she used to work with him and is still pretty angry about how things ended between them. Like I said, Aiden has a difficult time showing his feelings, which means he never says thank you for all of the hard work, things she sacrificed, and hours she spent doing something for him. That will likely bother you in the beginning because I felt that way too, but no worries, he does become a much more likable and appealing guy as the novel progresses. He’s also protective and caring when it comes to Van, and that will instantly melt your heart.

So to conclude, I just want to say that this was a well written novel that held my interest from the first page until the last one. I recommend reading something by this author. I’ve just read the two books I’ve mentioned so far, but both of them were extremely memorable and incredible. One thing that I’ve yet to mention is how much I loved the supporting characters, mostly Aiden’s roommate and teammate Zac. He’s the total opposite of Aiden: outgoing, fun, bubbly, and openly compassionate. Not to say that our main boy isn’t these things, it’s just that Zac is more open about all of it and Vanessa befriends him immediately. I like the direction that Zapata took his character in. He wasn’t someone fighting for Van’s affections or anything, he was a platonic friend who cared about her on that level and he helped her get through some frustrating times while working for Aiden and also when she marries him. Zac is one of the few people who knows that the marriage is a sham. So yes, having supporting characters (or rather just one) that standout like he does really help the story for me. I can’t brag on this book enough, it’s a quick read and one that I will likely reread again at some point just because I found it so entertaining.

four-half-stars

Divider

Blog Tour: The Secrets We Kept Review

December 14, 2015 Blog Tours, Reviews, Young Adult 1 ★★★★

Blog Tour: The Secrets We Kept Review

Blog Tour: The Secrets We Kept ReviewThe Secrets We Kept by Lily Velez
Published by Blue Typewriter Press on November 8th 2015
Source: Publisher
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository
Goodreads
four-stars
One year. That's how long it's been since childhood sweethearts Sully Graham and Cadence Gilbertson broke up, since one adoption and one out-of-state move turned their worlds upside down.
Suddenly, Cadence is back in New York City, but something's different about her. The light in her eyes, the music in her laughter, the warmth in her smile—all of those things have entirely vanished. In their place stand the makings of a girl Sully can't even begin to recognize, much less understand.
Still, despite the collective history of heartbreak between them, he’s convinced he can win her trust again, and he’s committed to proving the invincibility of their love no matter what it takes.
But Cadence is quietly harboring secrets of her own. Dark secrets. Ugly secrets. Secrets that could break a person. And though broken herself and unbearably lonely, she's determined to protect Sully from her terrible, biting truths. Even if it means locking him out of her life forever.
The only problem is it seems her heart hasn’t quite received the memo. One glimpse of him is all it takes for her to trip into familiar (and, she’ll admit, addictive) feelings that threaten to all but consume her. Now her biggest fear is that her secrets will begin to slowly unravel one by one...long before Sully’s resolve ever does.
The Secrets We Kept is a moving story about first love, friendship, and forgiveness, and the enduring bonds that forever connect us and give us our strength.

Are you looking for a heartbreaking YA book that touches on themes like depression, first love, family, acceptance, and healing? Okay, maybe you aren’t specifically searching out for a book that covers every single one of those themes, but if just one of them appeals to you, then I suggest that you check this book out. Though it’s Lily Velez’s debut novel, she weaves together this complex story in a beautiful and natural way that makes it seem as if she’s been producing YA books for years. She truly gets inside the minds of these characters and makes you feel as if you’re right alongside them as they navigate the streets of New York City. This all might seem really cheesy to say, but I think that this was a delightful read as a whole and the characters were all extremely relatable and lovable.

I had some doubts about Cadence at times just because Sully is literally THE perfect character and she continually pushes him away. As the book progresses, we do learn more about what has made Cadence feel like she and Sully can never be together again. As the summary says, (and the title implies) there is this huge secret that Cadence is keeping from Sully that’s completely changed her. It might be me because I had actually just read a book very similar to this one, but I did see the secret coming. What I didn’t anticipate was the reaction to the secret which I’m not going to spoil for obvious reasons. The flashbacks to the romance that the couple had when they were kids was absolutely adorable and completely melted my heart. Couples having a history is one of my favorite tropes (if you even call it that) out there, and this one worked well for me.

Is this a perfect book? No, there were still some slight issues for me, but those minor things never got in the way of the overall story for me. I was still 100% invested in Cadence and Sully having a happily ever after. Still not sold on this book? Another one of my favorite things about the book was the supporting characters Spencer and Haley. Spencer is Sully’s brother, while Haley is a boy that they meet when he comes to stay with Spencer’s foster family after his parents die in a car accident. I loved the friendship that was built between Haley and Cadence. I also found Spencer to be both endearing and amusing. Yes, this book is about kids who navigate through both the foster care system, and the world itself, and the story is just as sad and beautiful as I was hoping it would be. Seriously, check this one out!

AUTHOR BIO:
Lily

Lily Velez has been writing stories since she was six years old. Not much has changed since then. She still prefers the written word and her overactive imagination over the ‘real world’ (though to be fair, her stories no longer feature talking dinosaurs). A graduate of Rollins College and a Florida native, when she’s not reading or writing, she spends most of her days wrangling up her pit bulls Noah and Luna, planning exciting travel adventures, and nursing her addiction to cheese. All this when she isn’t participating in the extreme sport known as napping. You can learn more about Lily and her books at www.lilyvelezbooks.com.

Lily’s debut young adult novel, The Secrets We Kept, released on November 8, 2015.

Giveaway:
a Rafflecopter giveaway

XBT250.png
four-stars

Divider

Blog Tour: Ready to Rock Review

December 2, 2015 Blog Tours, Reviews 0 ★★★★

Blog Tour: Ready to Rock Review

Blog Tour: Ready to Rock ReviewReady To Rock: A Rock Star Romance (Save the Date Book 0) by Cara Connelly
Published by Charter Street Books LLC on December 1st 2015
Source: Publisher
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository
Goodreads
four-stars
three-half-flames
His name's on everyone's lips--sexy rocker Jack McCabe. His gritty New York City band is red hot, almost as hot as his fiery affair with photography student Lil Marchone, the girl from his past, now the woman he loves. The problem is, Lil's controlling ex wants her back. Rich, powerful, and ruthless, he'll stop at nothing--including murder--to get Jack out of her life. But Jack's a badass himself, always up for a fight. And with the stakes this high, he'll risk everything for Lil, even his band. Even his life.

So I’ve never read any of the books in the Save The Date series from this author and this is a prequel to the first book. Anyway, this was my first time being introduced to these characters and I did enjoy the book as a whole! It wasn’t my favorite, but I feel like it showed us a new side to what rockstars have to go through with the media and how it can affect their families and lives in general. I sincerely hope that she continues writing NA rocker books because she’s certainly found a little niche here, in my opinion!

The beginning of the story was a bit difficult for me to push through. Lil has a pretty serious boyfriend named Claude, but once she reconnects with Jack, the man who saved her life years ago when she was in an accident and lost both of her parents, she basically pushes Claude aside for Jack. I had a problem with this because she never actually told Claude that she didn’t want to be with him, she kept leading him on and still turning to Jack. I won’t completely place the blame on Lil though because it seems very real that she could have just been swept away by this new romance, but at the same time she didn’t want to hurt her longtime boyfriend. The boys in the story had some extreme flaws, especially Claude, who becomes extremely dangerous to Lil and Jack as the book progresses.

The second and only other problem that I had with the story was that I felt that Jack and Lil moved too fast in the relationship. I feel like they didn’t have much time to just be in a relationship. On one page, they were just starting to get together, and then the next they were engaged. I had to reread that part because it surprised me a lot! What surprised me the most was that Jack had a lot of sexual partners and wasn’t into commitment, so it would be realistic that he’d struggle to be in a relationship. All that aside, I do think Jack was a likable character. He had his baggage and that made me really enjoy his character and root for him to succeed. He takes care of the people that he loves and he definitely provides for Lil. There were quite a few charming scenes between the two that made me swoon. Towards the end of the book, things get super intense. I found myself beyond invested in the turn of events and it totally kept me on the edge of my seat. I recommend this if you’re looking for a NA rockstar romance that also is a bit of a thriller as well.

Learn about Cara’s Save the Date series

Cara Connelly

 Cara Connelly is the author of the Save the Date series of contemporary romances published by Avon Romance. The latest book in the series, The Wedding Gift, was released in May 2015. Cara’s smart and sexy stories have won several awards, including the Romance Writers of America’s Golden Heart, the Valley Forge Romance Writers’ Sheila, and the Music City Romance Writers’ Melody of Love. A former attorney and law professor, she lives with her husband Billy in the woods of upstate New York.

Connect with Cara at: Website | Facebook | Twitter| GoodReads |

Excerpt:

“Honey, you have to get help.” Mama’s tone was calm but urgent.

“Me? How?” I was frozen in place. I needed her to tell me what to do.

“Just open the door,” she said quietly, “and climb up to the road. Wave at the first car you see and tell them to call an ambulance.”

It sounded simple, but I was trapped in one of those dreams where you desperately want to run but your legs won’t move.

Then flames licked out from under the hood. Mama quit feigning calm. “Get out of the car!”

Galvanized, I yanked on the door handle. But the frame had bent. The door wouldn’t budge. “Mama, help me!”

“I can’t!” she shouted. And that’s when I noticed the dashboard sitting in her lap. Her legs were crushed, she was pinned to her seat. It was up to me to help her.

Unlocking my seatbelt, I leaned across to the other door. The car was tilted that way, so the door swung open when I touched the handle. But before I could bring my legs around, fire belched up from underneath. I leapt back, singed. Flames curled into the car. Mama was yelling. “Get out the back! Go! Go!” I yanked down the seat. The trunk was jammed with suitcases. I clawed at them. But Daddy had loaded the largest first, wedging it tight against the seat, braced by the smaller bags.

“I can’t,” I wailed. “I can’t move them!” And it was too late anyway. The flames were all around the car, the air inside so hot it seared my lungs. Reaching forward, I wrapped my arms around Mama’s neck; she clawed at my shoulders, trying to pull me between the seats, into her lap, to shield me with her body.

And then my door flew open, and a man thrust his shoulders right into that furnace. Mama saw him, and with all the strength she’d been using to pull me forward, she pushed me back toward him. “Take her! Take my daughter!” His arms locked around my waist and he hauled me backwards. Insanely, I clung to Mama, trying to bring her with me. She batted at my grasping hands. “Go with him!” And though I struggled at first, I had no choice. He was big and strong. He threw me over his shoulder and ran.

At the roadside, he set me down in the grass. The car was a fireball, the cottonwood jutting above it, burning like a torch against the dusky sky. “Mama!” I screamed, trying to get up.

The man pushed me down. Holding my face between his hands, he forced me to look into his eyes. “I’ll get them out, but you have to wait here. Promise me.” He seemed so steady and sure. I didn’t know what else to do, so I nodded. And without another word, he stood up and ran straight toward the car.

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

four-stars

Divider

Blog Tour: Hannah Both Ways

November 30, 2015 Blog Tours, Reviews, Young Adult 0 ★★★★

Blog Tour: Hannah Both Ways

Blog Tour: Hannah Both WaysHannah Both Ways by Rosie Greenway
Published by Rebelight Publishing Inc. on November 17th 2015
Pages: 218
Source: Publisher
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository
Goodreads
four-stars
A devastating Twitter prank yanks Hannah out of the popular crowd and turns her into the high school’s best bad joke. Determined to finish the year and graduate, Hannah must keep the humiliating details from her impulsive mother—who just might pack up their belongings and move. Again.
Hannah hovers below the radar by submersing herself in a new routine. Post-it notes, Dewey Decimal numbers and carefully planned trips to the library are her refuge. That is, until a persistent new student invades her space. Lucas has complete disregard for Hannah’s cynicism and snark, and he seems to know the bullies who targeted her. Can Hannah trust him, or is he part of another ploy to torment her?

So this book only took me a few hours to read. It’s hardly 200 pages, and I flew through those pages because I was so connected to the characters and what was going on. While there were a few things that I wish the author would have fully resolved, this was a cute story that completely held my attention the entire time. Truthfully, I wasn’t ready for it to be over once I hit the end. It wasn’t a totally unique plot, but the way the author weaved together these characters did make the book standout. I was able to connect with Hannah in a way that is sometimes rare for me. I also loved Lucas and felt like he was a brilliant book boyfriend. If you like YA romance, this book should definitely go on your TBR list right away.

Lucas was a beautiful character. I loved him from the very first moment that we were introduced to him. I loved how determined he was to get to know Hannah, and we later find out exactly why he felt so drawn to her and that just made me like him even more. I’m also a sucker for the inexperienced male character, because we don’t see that often enough in YA books. There’s plenty of scenes in the book that are just so adorable with him and I enjoyed getting to see that.

While it did bother me what happened to Hannah, I still believed it. Kids are cruel, and I could easily see that occurring at a high school. There wasn’t much that I didn’t like about the book, except I was kind of hoping for some sort of breakthrough with some of the mean girls. However, this book was realistic and also got me on a personal level. Hannah used books as an escape, and that’s something that I find myself doing as well. Maybe you may not connect in this specific way, but I’m sure that this is a book that you might be able to find something relatable and enjoyable for you personally. This was a quick and memorable read and I was lucky to get to read it!

About the author:

Rosie Greenway grew up on the outskirts of Toronto, and continues to live and work in the GTA with her husband and family. After spending her formative years public-school hopping, Rosie attended the University of Toronto, specializing in English literature. A former English teacher, Rosie now finds herself putting into practice the many lessons she used to impart to the students in her class room. While she has often turned to writing as a way to relax and unwind, Hannah Both Ways is her first foray into the world of Young Adult publishing.When she isn’t writing, Rosie is an avid traveler, armchair film critic, enthusiastic foodie and voracious reader. She is a passionate literacy advocate and one of her greatest achievements is instilling in her daughter the joy of reading. You can connect with Rosie on Twitter @Rosie_Greenway.

Connect with the Author:   Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads

Giveaway Information: Contest ends December 25, 2015

• Two (2) winners will received a physical copy of Hannah Both Ways by Rosie Greenway (US/Canada)
• Five (5) winners will receive a digital copy of Hannah Both Ways by Rosie Greenway (INT)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Chapter-by-Chapter-blog-tour-button

four-stars

Divider

Blog Tour: Cadence Review

November 6, 2015 Blog Tours, Reviews 0 ★★★★

Blog Tour: Cadence Review

Blog Tour: Cadence ReviewCadence by Lisa Swallow
Source: Publisher
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository
Goodreads
four-stars
four-flames

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Tegan Hughes joins Blue Phoenix and Ruby Riot on tour, and drummer Bryn isn’t the only one who notices his little sister isn’t a kid anymore.

Jax Lewis is the guitarist for Ruby Riot and the band are rising to success. He’s hot property and loving every minute of his new found fame. Now, he’s on tour supporting Blue Phoenix and living his rock star life to the full. Until Tegan walks into his world and puts the brakes on.

Tegan Hughes is taking a year out and has her sights set on touring Europe with her big brother’s band. Blue Phoenix drummer, Bryn isn’t happy when his sister arrives unannounced at his hotel in Lisbon, but Tegan isn’t the type of person to take no as an answer.

With her big brother breathing down their necks, Jax and Tegan attempt to keep a handle on their growing attraction but that proves harder than they thought. Jax is used to getting whoever and whatever he wants and after kissing Tegan once, he knows one thing…he wants more.

The problem is, Tegan isn’t rock star girlfriend material. She has ambitions of her own and refuses to let anything stand in the way of her plans. But when Jax and Tegan’s relationship becomes public knowledge life becomes a hell of a lot more complicated.

Cadence is the first standalone book in a new rock romance series, Ruby Riot. The series is a spin-off from the Blue Phoenix books but you do not need to read the Blue Phoenix series first.

Cadence_BLOGTOUR

Unfortunately, I’ve never read any of the Blue Phoenix books by Lisa Swallow. However, reading this new series from her, which is a sort of spin off, made me definitely want to read all of them. I was pleasantly surprised to find an affordable deal on all of the books through Kindle Unlimited. Anyway, I’m excited about the following Ruby Riot books. If they are as incredible as this one, this is completely a series worth checking out.

 

Cadence_SALE

Tegan and Jax were layered but still fairly likable characters for most of the book. Yes, Jax definitely had his bad boy side considering the fact that he’s a big time rocker, but the way he treated Tegan was so swoon worthy. There were quite a few steamy scenes between the awesome couple and it’s safe to say that I loved all of them! As for Tegan, she’s a completely fabulous protagonist. I loved her BA feminist attitude, it was lovely to see that she didn’t take anybody’s crap at all. I didn’t know much about Bryn, since I obviously haven’t read the Blue Phoenix series and all of the band members also appear in the Ruby Riot novels. Reading about him in this one made me want to pick up his story immediately! I wanted to hear more about his and Avery’s love story. For those of you that don’t know, Bryn is Tegan’s big brother and he is a member of Blue Phoenix, a band that is currently more popular than the rising Ruby Riot band. He was believable in his role as big brother, and I loved his protectiveness over his little sister. My only complaint is that I did want more sweet brother and sister roles between them, but I might just be biased since I have a big brother and love seeing that in books.

As already stated, this is a steamy and fascinating novel that captured my attention from start to finish. I loved getting to read Jax and Tegan’s story, but I’m also looking forward to reading more about the Ruby Riot members. Specifically, the twins in the group who are pretty much the only guys left in the group that have yet to shack up! If you’re looking for an addicting new adult romance novel that centers around sexy band members, look no further than this new series and the Blue Phoenix series as well.


AUTHOR BIO:

Lisa is an Amazon bestselling author of contemporary and paranormal romance. She is originally from the UK and moved to Australia in 2001. She now lives in Perth, Western Australia with her husband, three children, and Weimaraner, Tilly, who often makes appearances on Lisa’s social media.

Lisa’s first publication was a moving poem about the rain, followed by a suspenseful story about shoes. Following these successes at nine years old there was a long gap in her writing career, until she published her first book in 2013.

In the past, Lisa worked as an English teacher in France, as an advertising copywriter in England, and ran her own business in Australia. Now she spends her days with imaginary rock stars.

She lived in Europe as a child and also travelled when she left university. This has given Lisa stories which would sound far-fetched if she wrote them down, and maybe one day she will. These days, Lisa is happy in her writing cave, under Tilly’s supervision.

AUTHOR LINKS:

Website

Facebook

Twitter

Newsletter

Amazon

Blue Phoenix Facebook Page

GIVEAWAY:

One winner will receive a paperback copy of any of Lisa’s books. Another winner will receive a swag pack!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

InkSlinger-PR-Blogger-Banner-New.jpg

four-stars

Divider