Source: InkSlinger PR

Divider

ARC Review: The Hot Shot

April 19, 2017 Reviews 0 ★★★★

ARC Review: The Hot ShotThe Hot Shot (Game On, #4) by Kristen Callihan
on April 18th 2017
Pages: 223
Source: InkSlinger PR
Also by this author: The Hook Up (Game On, #1), The Friend Zone (Game On, #2), The Game Plan (Game On, #3), Idol (VIP, #1), Managed (VIP, #2)
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository
Goodreads
four-stars

I received this book for free from InkSlinger PR in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

First we were friends. Then we were roommates. Now I want more…What can I say about Chess Copper? The woman is capable of bringing me to my knees. I know this about five minutes after getting naked for her.No one is more surprised than me. The prickly photographer my team hired to shoot our annual charity calendar isn’t my usual type. She’s defense to my offense, a challenge at every turn. But when I’m with her, all the regrets and darkness goes away. She makes life fun.
I want to know Chess, be close to her. Which is a bad idea.
Chess is looking for a relationship. I’ve never given a woman more than one night. But when fate leaves Chess without a home, I step up and offer her mine. We’re roommates now. Friends without benefits. But it’s getting harder to keep our hands off each other. And the longer we live together the more I realize she’s becoming my everything.
Trick is… Now that I’ve made her believe I’m a bad bet, how do I convince her to give this player a true shot at forever?

Wow, this was really awesome! Then again, I’ve come to expect nothing less than absolutely amazing from Kristen Callihan. She’s just one of those authors for me that never fails to write beautiful romances that sweep me off my feet. She also writes some of the most memorable characters that I’ve ever came across. Finn and Chess were both such lovable characters, and I loved the relationship that they slowly but surely built as the book progressed. I highly recommend this one if you’re looking for a sports romance or just a fast paced romance in general. If you’ve never read anything from this author before, what are you waiting for? I promise that you’ll probably adore her works if you’re a fan of fun and realistic romances that have some steam thrown in there for good measure. I can’t wait to see what she writes next.

Chess was a wonderful heroine. She has such a strong personality that you can’t help but adore. She’s a unique woman who isn’t afraid to be herself. Honestly, I can’t think of all that much about her that I didn’t absolutely love. She’s just a naturally likable person from the very first page. I loved how she wasn’t afraid to say what she thought, and she didn’t let anyone walk all over her. Chess shared some similarities with some of Callihan’s past heroines, but at the same time she was so different from them in all the right ways. She’s her own person, and she’ll stick with you long after you finish reading this.

Finn was such a sweetheart. I wasn’t sure if I’d like him at first, but there was any need for me to doubt. I quickly fell in love with Finn. He wasn’t a douchebag by any means, instead he was an extremely loving and caring guy all around. I’m always going to have a thing for football players, so the QB of an NFL football team definitely didn’t disappoint. He was a true leader, who was also an amazing teammate and I loved seeing some of the same guys that we saw from the last couple of books. I don’t know if I liked him more than Drew, Grey, or Dex, but he was still an excellent guy who I loved getting to know more.

The romance between Finn and Chess is easily my favorite part of the book. I love that they have this instant banter from the first time that they meet, though they didn’t seem to like each other much at the time. Anyway, they slowly become close friends which obviously develops into more. This is certainly a book that has a slow burn to it, and I thought that was a fitting choice from Callihan. Once they finally had sex, it was totally electric. They most certainly have some serious chemistry, that’s for sure.

This fourth book in the Game On series is just as lovely as I was hoping it would be. While I’d still say that the last one is probably my favorite, this one is still just as amazing and memorable as I hoped it would be. Callihan is an author who never ever disappoints. I’m so happy that she introduced us to Finn and Chess, they were both such unique characters. This was a fast paced read that I managed to finish in just a few sittings. I’m happy that I read this one and I hope that you give it a shot as well!

four-stars

Divider

ARC Review: The Hot One

March 2, 2017 Reviews 0 ★★★★

ARC Review: The Hot OneThe Hot One by Lauren Blakely
on February 27th 2017
Pages: 300
Source: InkSlinger PR
Also by this author: Mister O, The Sapphire Affair (Jewel, #1), Well Hung, The Sexy One
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository
Goodreads
four-stars

I received this book for free from InkSlinger PR in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

A sexy new standalone romance from #1 New York Times Bestselling Author Lauren Blakely...
Ever notice that sometimes a guy will do something really stupid, like let the love of his life slip through his fingers?
Yeah. I'm that guy. But the moment I run into the woman I once loved madly, I’ve got one goal and one goal only—a second chance. The plan? Go big or go home.
Fine, at first glance, stripping naked at my ex-girlfriend's place of work might not seem like the brightest way to win her heart again. But trust me on this count—she always liked me best without any clothes on. And you've got to play to your strengths when you're fighting an uphill battle. As a lawyer, I know how to fight, and I'm prepared to fight hard for her. Because sometimes you need a second chance at first love.
He's the one who got away . . . The nerve of Tyler Nichols to reappear like that at my job, showing off his rock-hard body that drove me wild far too many nights. That man with his knowing grin and mischievous eyes is nothing but a cocky jerk to saunter back into my life. Except, what if he's not . . .? I've tried like hell to forget him, but maybe I'm cursed to remember the guy I fell madly in love with eight years ago. Lord knows I’m not over him, so what's the harm in giving him a week to prove he's changed in the ways that matter?
After all, how do you resist the hot one…

I know I sound like a broken record at this point, but Lauren Blakely isn’t capable of writing a bad book. She constantly writes these absolutely beautiful love stories filled with fierce and memorable characters. Reading her books never gets old to me and I can’t wait for her next releases! I feel like she does such an excellent job at making us care so much about the world that these characters live in. What I mean is that some of these characters might just be featured in a few scenes, but Blakely’s writing causes you to become intrigued and want a story for them. I highly recommend this and any other book by her if you really want to laugh out loud! It’s such a light and humorous novel, which is something that all of us need more of.

Delaney was such a fabulous main character. I loved that she didn’t let Tyler off the hook so easily. She’s a strong and independent woman and I loved that about her. She wasn’t the most memorable character, but she was still interesting and fun. I also really respected that she was able to figure out what she loved before she got stuck in a career that wasn’t meant for her. Delaney also had an amazing friend group that included sweet Penny, who received her own story in The Only One. Anyway, I did like Delaney, I just didn’t exactly love her since she didn’t do much that was memorable or stood out to me.

Tyler is a rather swoony guy. I loved learning about him in previous Blakely books and have been waiting for his story for forever. He didn’t let us down. He was sexy, swoony, and determined to win over Delaney again. I loved how relentless and eager he was to show his affection for her. He wasn’t always smart about his decisions in the past, but I’m glad that he grew up in the end. Tyler is a guy who is just absolutely filled with personality. That’s not to say that her heroes usually aren’t, they are, and that’s something I’ve always enjoyed seeing so I’m glad that Blakely continues this with Tyler. The scene where he strips at Delaney’s work in order to win her back was totally priceless, creative, and hilarious. It truly fit Tyler’s personality in the best way possible.

This was a wonderful second chance romance. Delaney and Tyler were together in college but he broke her heart when he abruptly ended things. Naturally, she made him work for it when he wanted her back years later. Though it takes a little while, it’s definitely beautiful when they get back together. I thought it was very realistic that Delaney didn’t take him back right away, who would? He seriously screwed up, but also he continually showed her that he wasn’t that guy anymore. It’s also extremely hot and chemistry is not an issue between them! They were a strong and beautiful couple all around.

This was yet another beautiful romance from one of my favorite authors. I will read literally anything she writes because she has yet to let me down. Delaney and Tyler were such lovely and pretty fascinating characters on their own, but even better together. I thought they were both cool characters, and I’m glad that they both finally got a happy ending. I can’t recommend Lauren Blakely’s books enough, you need to pick this one up! I can’t wait to read The Wild One next.

four-stars

Divider

Retreat Review

January 15, 2017 Reviews 0 ★★★½

Retreat ReviewRetreat (The Getaway Series Book 1) by Jay Crownover
on December 28th, 2016
Source: InkSlinger PR
Also by this author: Rule (Marked Men, #1), Built (Saints of Denver, #1)
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository
Goodreads
three-half-stars

I received this book for free from InkSlinger PR in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Every once in a while, you need to get away from it all.
I was a woman on the edge, shaken and shattered after a breakup that felt like it tore my entire world apart. My best friend, sick of watching me drown in misery and melancholy, harassed me until I agreed to go with her on a week-long wilderness retreat.
She promised days spent bonding and getting in touch with our inner bad-asses. It was supposed to be all about the two of us roughing it and making do with the bare minimum. She assured me we were going to be pushed to our limits in ways that were unimaginable. Neither one of us could have ever guessed just how right she was.
Nowhere in the glossy brochure did it say anything about the fact I was going to have to battle the insufferable but deliciously rugged and sexy trail guide instead of the elements. The brochure also forgot to mention the part that warned when you left civilization behind, there was no place to pack your inhibitions and fears.
I was told that I would be facing a week where the only thing I should expect was the unexpected. However, no one mentioned that I was going to have to fight for my life…and my heart as soon as I ventured into the unknown.
I was a pro at hiding from my feelings but when it came time to face a real threat, one that could change everything, I learned I was more of a no surrender, no retreat kind of girl.
Retreat is a standalone novel, the first in the Getaway series which centers on the hardheaded and brokenhearted Warner brothers and the women that dare to love them. These boys are very good at putting the wild in wilderness.

So guys, the awesome romance author Jay Crownover surprised all of her fans with a brand new book right towards the end of 2016. I’ve recently became a big Crownover fan so I’m totally late to the party. Oh well, better late than never, right? Anyway, I think she writes some steamy romance filled with flawed yet beautiful characters that stick with you long after finishing the book. Although I haven’t read all of her stories, it’s pretty obvious that this one is like nothing that Crownover has ever written before. This is a very unique and great story that I really enjoyed. It wasn’t a perfect story, but it was still completely fascinating from the first page until the last. I think you should definitely give this a chance if you’re looking for something a little different.

From the first page, Leo was an easy character to relate to. She’s still extremely broken over her last terrible romance. After that romance, she ended up shutting out a lot of important people in her life, and she clearly regrets that strongly. You really feel for Leo as she’s doing the best that she can to piece herself back together after this devastating breakup. Leo’s best friend Emrys pretty much makes her go on this retreat with her because she wants her best friend to be happy again. I thought that the friendship between Em and Leo was pretty great and memorable. I can’t wait to read Em’s story next!

Cyrus is our broody cowboy who doesn’t look like your typical cowboy. He’s an intense and mature alpha male who I really liked. Yes, it’s hard to like him at first due to how closed off he is from the start. However, he slowly but surely opens up to Leo and we get to learn more about why he is the way he is. He probably isn’t my absolute favorite hero, but he’s still a pretty great and memorable one as a whole. I think that a lot of people will really enjoy his character!

The romance moves really fast as you might expect since all of this happens over a pretty short amount of time. I’m typically very hesitant when it comes to any books that have even a little bit of insta-love to it. In this case though, this wasn’t done in such a terribly unrealistic manner. I felt like both of the characters were so mature and had been through so much, that this pace wasn’t so hard to believe. As mentioned, the romance was definitely on the steamy side of things. Cy and Leo made a dynamic couple for sure. The chemistry was so clear between them from the first interaction between them.

I thought that Retreat was a fabulous first book to this intense and fun new series. I can’t wait to see what comes next for these characters that Crownover has created here. Cy and Leo are both broken characters who somehow were able to find love through all of the pain that they’ve had to overcome. This was a fast paced and well written novel. Once you pick it up, you’ll probably not be able to put it back down. It’s a great read and I’m happy that I read it!

three-half-stars

Divider

The Girl with the Lower Back Tattoo and Scrappy Little Nobody Reviews

January 2, 2017 Reviews 0 ★★★

The Girl with the Lower Back Tattoo and Scrappy Little Nobody ReviewsThe Girl with the Lower Back Tattoo by Amy Schumer
Published by Gallery Books on August 16th 2016
Pages: 323
Source: InkSlinger PR
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository
Goodreads
three-stars
The Emmy Award-winning comedian, actress, writer, and star of Inside Amy Schumer and the acclaimed film Trainwreck has taken the entertainment world by storm with her winning blend of smart, satirical humor. Now, Amy Schumer has written a refreshingly candid and uproariously funny collection of (extremely) personal and observational essays.
In The Girl with the Lower Back Tattoo, Amy mines her past for stories about her teenage years, her family, relationships, and sex and shares the experiences that have shaped who she is - a woman with the courage to bare her soul to stand up for what she believes in, all while making us laugh.
Ranging from the raucous to the romantic, the heartfelt to the harrowing, this highly entertaining and universally appealing collection is the literary equivalent of a night out with your best friends - an unforgettable and fun adventure that you wish could last forever. Whether she's experiencing lust-at-first-sight while in the airport security line, sharing her own views on love and marriage, admitting to being an introvert, or discovering her cross-fit instructor's secret bad habit, Amy Schumer proves to be a bighearted, brave, and thoughtful storyteller that will leave you nodding your head in recognition, laughing out loud, and sobbing uncontrollably - but only because it's over.

So I normally read very little nonfiction books. However, I actually ended up reading three of them in December. I picked each of those books up because the women who wrote them are so hilarious and memorable. I already reviewed Lauren Graham’s book last week, so I decided to combine the other two books in just one review. Amy Schumer and Anna Kendrick are two celebrities that I adore and I’m so happy that they both wrote books. It was awesome getting inside of their creative and hilarious minds. I don’t have a lot of thoughts on them that don’t get repetitive, but I’m still really happy that I read these books.

A lot of comedians are infamous for having no filter, and Amy Schumer is no exception to this at all. She basically tells all about a variety of different topics. I like that Schumer isn’t afraid to share even the most embarrassing of situations from her personal life. She puts absolutely everything out there in her typical hilarious fashion. It was also fascinating getting to see where she came from and some of the stories about her struggle to become famous. There’s also a ton of things that I learned about her that I never would have known otherwise. For example, did you guys know that Amy is actually an introvert? I would never expect that since she’s so outgoing and loud when she’s onstage. But she reveals that offstage, she needs to recharge and be away from people quite frequently.

Though Amy is obviously really hysterical, I was also surprised by how serious the book became at certain points in the story. She reveals a lot about some of her painful relationships and experiences. This couldn’t have been easy for Schumer to reveal, so I really applaud her for her complete and utter honest. It’s true that not all of this was exactly upbeat and funny, but it was all realistic and a lot of these experiences are what other women have gone through as well. My only complaint with the book is that it did drag on a bit. I caught myself continually checking how many pages I had left, which is never a good sign for me. I think a few of these essays could have honestly been cut out or at least shortened. She also got a little repetitive at times and some of the jokes didn’t completely hit for me. I’m happy that she wrote a book, but it simply wasn’t my favorite in the end.

The Girl with the Lower Back Tattoo and Scrappy Little Nobody ReviewsScrappy Little Nobody by Anna Kendrick
Published by Touchstone on November 15th 2016
Pages: 271
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository
Goodreads
three-stars
A collection of humorous autobiographical essays by the Academy Award-nominated actress and star of Up in the Air and Pitch Perfect.
Even before she made a name for herself on the silver screen starring in films like Pitch Perfect, Up in the Air, Twilight, and Into the Woods, Anna Kendrick was unusually small, weird, and “10 percent defiant.”
At the ripe age of thirteen, she had already resolved to “keep the crazy inside my head where it belonged. Forever. But here’s the thing about crazy: It. Wants. Out.” In Scrappy Little Nobody, she invites readers inside her brain, sharing extraordinary and charmingly ordinary stories with candor and winningly wry observations.
With her razor-sharp wit, Anna recounts the absurdities she’s experienced on her way to and from the heart of pop culture as only she can—from her unusual path to the performing arts (Vanilla Ice and baggy neon pants may have played a role) to her double life as a middle-school student who also starred on Broadway to her initial “dating experiments” (including only liking boys who didn’t like her back) to reviewing a binder full of butt doubles to her struggle to live like an adult woman instead of a perpetual “man-child.”
Enter Anna’s world and follow her rise from “scrappy little nobody” to somebody who dazzles on the stage, the screen, and now the page—with an electric, singular voice, at once familiar and surprising, sharp and sweet, funny and serious (well, not that serious).

Scrappy Little Nobody was a fun read for me. Anna Kendrick is one of my favorite actresses. She’s just so funny and most of all, she seems genuinely down to earth. I was beyond ecstatic to read what this funny and insanely talented actress had to say. In the end, it ended up to be even more hilarious and relatable than I was expecting it to be. Like Schumer, Kendrick doesn’t really have much of a filter, and that’s one of the many reasons why people love her. She says exactly what she’s thinking, and doesn’t care what people have to say about that. She tells so many real and fun stories that were so enjoyable to read. Also like Amy, I was happy to see where Anna came from and how she became the successful actress that she is today. This was a quick read for me and I’m glad that I picked it up!

Anna told a ton of realistic and honest stories about her life. One of the most powerful and memorable essays was about how she lost her virginity. She ended up having this semi-serious boyfriend when she was 20 and was excited to lose her virginity to him. Afterwards, she discovered that she truly ended having sex and did it as regularly as possible with him. In the end though, he ended up slut shaming her in honestly the worst fashion. Anna wasn’t as bitter and hateful towards him as she probably should have been. Though she didn’t end up dating him for much longer, she ended up still able to wish him nothing but happiness in the end, which was really big of her. Anyway, there were quite a few essays where Anna was just blunt about so many things in her life and I loved that. I felt like the book became boring and tedious at times. Yes, it was exciting to get a glimpse of her life, but I felt like the whole section dedicated to fashion was tedious and not totally needed. I liked this book, but it wasn’t my favorite memoir either.

three-stars

Divider

ARC Review: Managed

November 15, 2016 Reviews 0 ★★★★

ARC Review: ManagedManaged (VIP, #2) by Kristen Callihan
on November 14th, 2016
Pages: 304
Source: InkSlinger PR
Also by this author: The Hook Up (Game On, #1), The Friend Zone (Game On, #2), The Game Plan (Game On, #3), Idol (VIP, #1), The Hot Shot (Game On, #4)
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository
Goodreads
four-stars
three-half-flames

I received this book for free from InkSlinger PR in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

It started off as a battle of wits. Me: the ordinary girl with a big mouth against Him: the sexy bastard with a big...ego.
I thought I’d hit the jackpot when I was upgraded to first class on my flight to London.
That is until HE sat next to me. Gabriel Scott: handsome as sin, cold as ice. Nothing and no one gets to him. Ever. He’s a legend in his own right, the manager of the biggest rock band in the world, and an arrogant ass who looks down his nose at me.
I thought I’d give him hell for one, long flight. I didn’t expect to like him. I didn’t expect to want him. But the biggest surprise? He wants me too. Only in a way I didn’t see coming.
If I accept his proposal, I leave myself open to falling for the one man I can’t manage. But I’m tempted to say yes. Because the real man beneath those perfect suits and that cool façade just might be the best thing that’s ever happened to me. And I just might be the only one who can melt the ice around his heart.
Let the battle begin…

Kristen Callihan is one of my favorite authors. She’s great at writing fascinating plots filled with these eccentric and memorable characters. In my book, she can do no wrong. I thought that Idol was a fabulous start to this new series of hers that follows a band of guys and the girls that bring them to their knees. I couldn’t wait for Scotty’s story. He’s the boy’s manager who seems extremely stuck up and cranky. Sophie Darling is a new character, but she’s definitely the best possible match for Scotty.

You guys, Sophie is absolutely hilarious. From her first encounter with Scotty on the plane, everything that she says is just so funny and witty. Sophie is one woman who isn’t scared of telling you exactly like it is. She’s a fantastic, fun, and bright character who I truly adored. Though she has a shameful past due to her old job, she’s doing the best she can to make up for that. Sophie is the total opposite of literally everything that Gabriel or Scotty represents, and that’s why they turn out to be so good together.

We know him by Scotty, but Sophie prefers to call him by his actual name, which is Gabriel. In Idol, he was this cold yet beautiful man who no one could really figure out. He’s been friends with the guys in the band for such a long time now, but he doesn’t even let them in all of the way. The more we learn about Gabriel, the more we love him. The reasons why he’s so guarded become more and more clear to us as the book progresses, and it was such a beautiful thing when he finally let Sophie in. Surprisingly enough, Gabriel is actually a pretty romantic and swoony dude when it comes to his girl. Despite his issues and insecurities, he’s an incredible book boyfriend.

The romance between Sophie and Gabriel was so amazing because of the tension that builds from their very first encounter. It takes them quite awhile to actually get together, but it’s wonderful once they finally do. I think that they make such a strong couple because they started off as just being friends until it slowly developed into much more. I always like it when a relationship doesn’t develop too quickly. In my opinion, this one happened at the exact right pace. They had such fabulous banter from the start, so the tension was so real and witty. If you can’t already tell, they were such a great couple.

This was yet another excellent Kristen Callihan novel that I truly enjoyed. I can’t wait to read the next book in this series. I’m hoping that it will be Jax, since he’s been talking a lot about how he’ll never find love like his two friends have, so hopefully he’ll meet his match next! Sophie and Gabriel had such a strong and fun romance that I loved reading about from the start. I highly recommend this book if you’re a fan of this author, love books that follow bands, or are looking for a story that will make you laugh.

Excerpt:

In all this time, I had yet to see Gabriel without a shirt. He hides his body like a pious Victorian, never letting me see anything other than him fully dressed and polished. Now I know why. Had he let me get a glimpse, I might never have been able to form a coherent thought around him.

This man’s chest is a work of art. It’s every fantasy I’ve had about a man’s body made real. I don’t even know how that’s possible, but I’m not about to complain. God, he looks touchable. Olive skin, tight little brownish nipples, a smattering of dark chest hair over the most incredibly honed—

“You’re staring.” His tone is dry.

“Yes, I am.” I drag my eyes up and find his expression bemused.

A thick brow lifts. I try to mimic the look and fail when both of my brows lift as one. His lips twitch in amusement.

He shifts his weight, causing his abs to clench. Good Lord. He’s not some overdeveloped gym worshiper, just solid and strong, that perfect balance between defined musculature and healthy male—

“You’re still staring, Sophie.”

“You think it’s easy looking away from all this splendor?” I ask his belly button, licking my lips when he huffs out a laugh and just a little bit more of his lower abs are revealed, slanting toward the thick bulge of his cock, which is lamentably hidden behind his slacks.

“You’re impossible,” he mutters, though there is humor in his voice. He strolls farther into the room and then practically kills me when he sits in one of the low-slung armchairs. That body, sprawled out on display, those thick, long thighs braced as if to take me in his lap—it’s too much.

I want to straddle him and lick my way from the hollow of his throat to the tip of his cock.

He eyes me as if he knows what I’m thinking, and the air thickens. So many things we left unsaid. I’m remembering his lips now, surprisingly soft, but strong with purpose.

From the way his lids lower, I wonder if he’s remembering things as well. But he doesn’t move. Tension glides over his body and snakes around the room. I feel it in my throat and down my spine. We’re closing up again, retreating.

Slowly, I toe off my shoes and set my gear down, never breaking eye contact. “I was being completely honest,” I tell him. “I see you like this and I want to stare forever.”

He snorts, shaking his head even as he rests his temple on his knuckles. “What do you mean ‘like this’?”

“Undone.”

He tenses. It does lovely things to that chest. I focus on his face, mainly to maintain some semblance of decorum.

“You think this is me undone?” he asks quietly.

“It’s a start.” I reach for my camera bag. “Will you let me photograph you?”

There is safety to be found with the camera between us. A way for both of us to hide until we’re comfortable around each other again.

“You’re serious?”

“You sound surprised.” Holding my camera, I sit in the sofa opposite him. “Don’t tell me no one has asked to take your picture before.”

“They’ve asked. I never saw the point.” He shrugs. “I’m not the story.”

You’re my story. You always were.

“This is just for me,” I say instead. “No one else.”

His shrewd gaze pins me. “Why do you want this?”

So I can have a bit of you forever. “Pictures capture moments in time. I want this one—when you finally let me see a sliver of the man behind the clothes.”

His nostrils flare on an indrawn breath, and he slowly lets it out. When he speaks, his voice is a rasp. “Take the pictures.”

 

 

 

managed-teaser-3

 

 

KCauthor

Kristen Callihan is an author because there is nothing else she’d rather be. She is a three-time RITA nominee and winner of two RT Reviewer’s Choice awards. Her novels have garnered starred reviews from Publisher’s Weekly and the Library Journal, as well as being awarded top picks by many reviewers. Her debut book FIRELIGHT received RT Magazine’s Seal of Excellence, was named a best book of the year by Library Journal , best book of Spring 2012 by Publisher’s Weekly, and was named the best romance book of 2012 by ALA RUSA. When she is not writing, she is reading.

WEBSITE / FACEBOOK / TWITTER / AMAZON AUTHOR PAGE

four-stars

Divider

ARC Review: The Sexy One

October 16, 2016 Reviews 0 ★★★★★

ARC Review: The Sexy OneThe Sexy One by Lauren Blakely
Published by Createspace Independent Publishing Platform on October 17th 2016
Source: InkSlinger PR
Also by this author: Mister O, The Sapphire Affair (Jewel, #1), Well Hung, The Hot One
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository
Goodreads
five-stars

I received this book for free from InkSlinger PR in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

From the NYT Bestselling author of MISTER O, comes a sexy new standalone romance...
Let me count the ways why falling into forbidden love is not my wisest move...1. She works with me every single day.Did I mention she's gorgeous, sweet, kind and smart?2. She works in my home.Playing with my five-year-old daughter. Teaching my little girl. Cooking for my princess. Which means...3. She's the nanny.And that makes her completely off-limits...But it doesn't stop me from wanting her. All of her.
The other nannies in this city don't call him the Sexy One for nothing. My boss, the amazingly wonderful single father to the girl I take care of every day is ridiculously hot, like movie star levels with those arms,and those eyes, and that body. Not to mention, the way he dotes on his little girl melts me all over. But what really makes my knees weak are the times when his gaze lingers on me. In secret. When no one else is around.
I can't risk my job for a chance at something more...can I? But I don't know how to resist him much longer either...

Lauren Blakely has quickly became one of my absolute favorite contemporary romance authors. She has this unbelievable talent of getting inside the minds and hearts of these fabulous heroes. The Sexy One is a book that I’ve been looking forward to since we were introduced to Simon and Abby back in Mister O. This book has everything that I want in a quality romance: two likable characters, swoon, a relatively slow build-up, sexy times, and no unnecessary drama to speak of. My only complaint at all is that I wanted more! It was less than 200 pages and I could have used a bit more Abby, Simon, and his sweet daughter Hayden. Otherwise, this was a book that gave me so many wonderful feels.

Abby is an awesome main character. She’s such a sweet and caring woman, and it’s obvious that she loves the little girl that she is a nanny for, despite her undeniable attraction to her father. Though she’s been taking care of Hayden for months now, she finds it more and more difficult to be around him constantly and not want to make a move on him. I can’t say that I blame her, Simon is clearly a hot guy and basically everything he says and does is totally swoony. Anyway, I found Abby to be nice and extremely smart. I really enjoyed how independent and just generally cool she is from the beginning to the end.

Simon is someone that I could talk about for days! Who doesn’t love a hot single man who has a daughter that is his whole world? I loved all the scenes that showcased him interacting with Hayden in such a gentle and loving manner. Everything about Simon screamed perfect to me. He had such strong feelings for his nanny from the start, but he also didn’t want to risk losing a great sitter for his little girl. It speaks volumes about what kind of man he is that he easily puts his daughter’s happiness well above his own. Once he’s finally able to actually be with Abby, he becomes even more swoony, which I honestly didn’t think was possible. He says some unbelievably perfect things to Abby that are able to completely melt your heart. Here’s one example:

“I’ve been falling in love with you since the day we met.”

I love how he finally puts it all out on the line and tells Abby how he truly feels. And yet another example of his lovely way with words:

“If loving that amazing, vibrant, talented, brilliant woman is a cliché, then I’ll gladly slap the sign on my chest. I’m a cliché, and I’m okay with it.”

He says pretty much everything that so many girls dream of hearing. I loved being inside his head and learning directly about what he was thinking and feeling since Abby began working for him.

I have to say that the romance is easily my favorite part, as you can probably already tell. As mentioned, she starts off as being someone who he is physically attracted to from the moment that they first meet. However, he slowly falls in love with her once he gets to know her personality even more. I LOVED all of the random and slightly nerdy texts that they exchange from the start. It really highlighted how they started this friendship that gradually developed into more. Abby also begins tutoring him so he can learn a little bit of French. My point is, I liked seeing them bond over different things that leads to them spending even more time together besides her watching Hayden. Though the sex scenes come pretty late in the book, that doesn’t make them any less steamy. The steam is real towards the end! Another thing that I loved about them taking awhile to get together meant that there was no time for any drama. That’s something that I love seeing since drama is something can really break a romance novel for me.

The Sexy One was a short and fast paced novel that I absolutely adored. This is one of my favorite Lauren Blakely novels to date! I loved basically everything about this book. I don’t think that the relationship between Simon and Abby could have been any better. Lauren Blakely has created two memorable and beautiful characters. Yes, that might be a little two perfect, but I can’t help but love them anyways. I’ll definitely be on the lookout for a guy as hot and good with kids as Simon is! If you have yet to read a Blakely novel, you need to pick one up right away.

five-stars

Divider

Well Hung Review and Release Blitz

September 12, 2016 Blog Tours, Reviews 0 ★★★★

Well Hung Review and Release BlitzWell Hung by Lauren Blakely
Published by Lauren Blakely Books on September 12th 2016
Pages: 300
Source: InkSlinger PR
Also by this author: Mister O, The Sapphire Affair (Jewel, #1), The Sexy One, The Hot One
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository
Goodreads
four-stars
four-flames

I received this book for free from InkSlinger PR in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

From the NYT Bestselling author of MISTER O, comes a hot and hilarious new standalone...Here’s what you need to know about me — I’m well-off, well-hung and quick with a joke. Women like a guy who makes them laugh—and I don’t mean at the size of his d*ck. No, they want their funny with a side of huge… not to mention loyal. I’ve got all that plus a big bank account, thanks to my booming construction business. Yup. I know how to use all my tools.
Enter Natalie. Hot, sexy, smart, and my new assistant. Which makes her totally off limits... 

Hey, I’m a good guy. Really. I do my best to stay far away from the kind of temptation she brings to work.
Until one night in Vegas… 

Yeah, you’ve heard this one before. Bad news on the business front, drowning our sorrows in a few too many Harvey Wallbangers, and then I’m banging her. In my hotel room. In her hotel room. Behind the Titanic slot machine at the Flamingo (don’t ask). And before I can make her say “Oh God right there YES!” one more time, we’re both saying yes—the big yes—at a roadside chapel in front of a guy in press-on sideburns and a shiny gold leisure suit. 


But it turns out what happened in Vegas didn’t stay in Vegas. And now, my dick doesn’t stay in my pants when she’s around. I try to resist. Honest. But the more we try to keep our hands to ourselves, the more we end up naked again, and the more time I want to spend with her fully clothed, too.
The question now is…do I take this woman to be my ex-wife?

well-hung-available-everywhere

 

✮✮✮WELL HUNG is now available! ✮✮✮

A hot and hilarious standalone romantic comedy, WELL HUNG is about an easy going, and well hung gentleman who’s been burned by love in the past but finds himself falling fast and hard for the one person he cannot have. It takes everything you love about a Lauren Blakely novel –witty dialogue, smoking hot sex scenes, and heartfelt moments –and puts them into one fantastic book! Told in the guy’s POV, WELL HUNG is the sexy, irreverent tale of what happens when a carpenter who’s good with all his tools accidentally marries his gorgeous and fiery assistant one night in Vegas. The trouble is…what happens in Vegas doesn’t always stay in Vegas in this twist on an office romance.

 

“Well Hung should come with the label ‘Satisfaction Guaranteed’ because there isn’t one single sentence I didn’t absolutely love of this story! This book has laugh-out-loud humor as well as a romance that’s both heartwarmingly sweet and deliciously dirty.”

-Yvette at Nose Stuck in a Book

 

 

well-hung-rwb-teaser-1

 

 

“Deliciously naughty and side-splittingly hilarious!”

Kelly at Beneath the Covers

 

 

wellhungbangdontscrewnodateteaserh

“Romantic, hilarious, & ridiculously HOT!”

Musings of the Modern Belle

“You heard it first from us: Lauren Blakely wrote the HOTTEST rollercoaster scene ever!”

-The Rock Stars of Romance

 

 

 

adlickitfb

 

 

lauren-blakelys-men-of-romcom-banner

And don’t miss Lauren Blakely’s other standalone Romantic Comedies!

BIG ROCK
MISTER O

 

Excerpt:

She twirls the pen in her hand. “So who caused the contamination today? Was it Floyd or Kevin the oily electrician you tried to put a chokehold on?”

“Oily Kevin needed the chokehold. Agree or disagree?”

She nods. “Completely agree. There’s so much agreement in me, I can’t imagine how much more I could possibly agree.”

“The chokehold was one hundred percent certifiably necessary,” I add, since Kevin had hit on her when he stopped by a few weeks ago. Here’s the thing—Natalie could dropkick him in the blink of an eye. She could slam him to the ground herself. But that shit he pulled with the leering and lewd comments does not fly with me. I would have done the same if a dude tried to get fresh with my little sister, Josie, at the bakery where she works. So I’d dropped a hand on Kevin’s shoulder, Vulcan style, and promptly escorted him the fuck out of my office. No one, and I mean no one, gets to put the moves on my employees.

“It was Floyd today,” I tell her, then give her the safe-for-work version of the story—the one about Floyd’s client conquests, not his comments about banging assistants. There’s no need to have that hanging out there in the air between us. Can’t plant that forbidden idea in her head.

That risky, dangerous, dirty, filthy, completely fucking alluring idea. My eyes roam the office briefly, and I catalogue all the places that are calling out to be christened. Her desk, her chair, the floor…

Just like that, my head is a wild rumpus of inappropriate ideas. Exactly what it shouldn’t be. It’s like horny aliens have invaded my mind.

But I’m not Floyd. I can do better, so I picture a vise, jam the images into it, and crush them out of my mind. The dirty images and the horny aliens, too.

“And then I escorted him out of Lila’s home and said see ya later,” I tell her, finishing the story, as I drag a hand through my dark brown hair. “Like, in another lifetime later.”

“Hmmm…” she says.

“Hmm, that’s great, or hmm, why did I give one of our suppliers the heave-ho?”

“Hmm, as in your story gives me a good idea. Something I’ve wanted to do for a long time.”

“What’s that?”

Her eyes sparkle. Hers are a lighter shade than my dark blue. “Want me to find a new hinge supplier?”

The idea is beyond perfect. I smack my palm against the edge of her desk enthusiastically. “Yes. And for the record, you’re brilliant and beauty—“ I cut the last word off so it sounds like a low bass note. Note to self: Don’t call her beautiful when you’re berating other men for hitting on her at work.

She’s watching me, waiting for me to finish my sentence, and somehow I twist the words into a new compliment, as I say, “Brilliant, and…bountiful.”

Bountiful? Seriously? What the hell was that? Maybe she won’t notice.

No such luck.

“Bountiful?” she asks, skepticism thick in her tone. As it fucking should be. “I’m bountiful?”

I nod, going with it, owning it. “Your brain. It’s like a cornucopia of ideas. It’s a Thanksgiving bounty. It’s bountiful,” I say, because I’ve got to sell this cover-up.

She squares her shoulders. “If you say so, Hammer.” And this bountiful brain was two steps ahead today. I already found a new supplier. I called around, talked to some of our colleagues, and got some great recommendations. I already have a new hinge guy lined up.”

My smile spreads quickly. “Damn. You are three steps ahead of me.”

“A good assistant should be.”

Thoughts: Mister O is easily my favorite Lauren Blakely book, so I had high hopes for Wyatt and Natalie’s story in Well Hung. It’s safe to say that Blakely definitely didn’t let me down. Though I won’t say that I liked it better than Mister O, it still came pretty close. I absolutely love how this author manages to get inside the minds of these male characters. There honestly aren’t enough romance books out there that only tell things from the male POV. Most of the time it’s a dual POV if it’s not in the female’s perspective. This is an amazing and fast paced read that I highly recommend! I recommend starting with Big Rock then Mister O then Well Hung. Though these are all standalones, the characters are all very connected, so I personally love reading these series in order. Anyway, read this if you’re looking for a well developed steamy romance with a lovable and surprisingly sensitive hero!

I can’t say enough positive things about my boy Wyatt. Though I was absolutely in love with Nick from Mister O, I can’t deny the fact that Wyatt is definitely a character that I would totally date/marry in a heartbeat. He’s rather damaged due to his past relationships, but he’s still an incredibly caring and generous guy. I loved learning more about him and his history as the book progressed. Not to the mention that he also has a hilarious sense of humor. On top of all of that, he truly is a romantic and swoony guy that will easily take your breath away. It’s a tragedy that he’s not a real person.

On the other side of things, my girl Natalie was an amazing character as well. I really identified with her, and I was a huge fan of her personality as a whole. She was definitely the perfect match for Wyatt! I loved how she didn’t put up with any of his crap. On top of all that, she was able to manage him and his entire business and make it look easy. I thought it might be weird not getting directly inside of her head, like I might feel somewhat disconnected from her. Luckily though, that turned out not to be the case at all. I ended up adoring everything about her.

The romance and overall chemistry between them was naturally incredible! You can feel the heat between them from the start. They do wind up hooking up rather early in the book, which I wasn’t sure about at first. However, I ended up being totally okay with it in the end. Blakely’s writing is so good that it truly didn’t bother me. Anyway, the romance was extremely on the steamy side and I loved it. Although things heat up between them physically rather quickly, I still enjoyed getting to see them bond on a friendly level. Like some of my favorite scenes were the ones where they would go out to dinner after work and exchange slightly embarrassing childhood stories or whatever.

This was a fast paced and well written book. Well Hung easily lived up to my expectations. When has Lauren Blakely not written an amazing and memorable love story though? She tends to have quite a few standalone books where the characters are connected on some level to one another. I’m a major fan of these types of stories, and she has easily mastered them! I’m looking forward to reading Wyatt/Nick’s sister Josie’s story next!

well-hung-rwb-teaser-3

✮✮✮Enter to win three signed copies of WELL HUNG! ✮✮✮

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

author-pic-lauren-blakelyAbout Lauren Blakely:

Since self-publishing her debut romance novel CAUGHT UP IN US three years ago, Lauren Blakely has sold more than 1 million books. She is known for her sexy contemporary romance style that’s full of heat, heart and humor. A devout fan of cake and canines, Lauren has plotted entire novels while walking her four-legged friends. She lives in California with her family. With ten New York Times bestsellers, her titles have appeared on the New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal Bestseller Lists more than fifty times. Her bestselling series include Sinful Nights, Seductive Nights, No Regrets, Caught Up in Love, and Fighting Fire as well as standalone romantic comedies like BIG ROCK and MISTER O, which were both instant New York Times Bestsellers. In the fall she’ll release WELL HUNG, another romantic comedy. To receive an email when Lauren releases a new book, sign up for her newsletter, laurenblakely.com/newsletter!

 

Website ** Facebook ** Twitter ** Newsletter ** Goodreads

 

 

inkslinger-pr-blogger-banner
four-stars

Divider

Blog Tour: Idol Review

June 12, 2016 Blog Tours, Reviews 2 ★★★★

Blog Tour: Idol ReviewIdol (VIP, #1) by Kristen Callihan
on June 7th, 2016
Source: InkSlinger PR
Also by this author: The Hook Up (Game On, #1), The Friend Zone (Game On, #2), The Game Plan (Game On, #3), Managed (VIP, #2), The Hot Shot (Game On, #4)
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository
Goodreads
four-stars

I received this book for free from InkSlinger PR in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Libby
I found Killian drunk and sprawled out on my lawn like some lost prince. With the face of a god and the arrogance to match, the pest won’t leave. Sexy, charming, and just a little bit dirty, he’s slowly wearing me down, making me crave more.
He could be mine if I dare to claim him. Problem is, the world thinks he’s theirs. How do you keep an idol when everyone is intent on taking him away?
Killian
As lead singer for the biggest rock band in the world, I lived a life of dreams. It all fell apart with one fateful decision. Now everything is in shambles.
Until Liberty. She’s grouchy, a recluse —and kind of cute. Scratch that. When I get my hands on her, she is scorching hot and more addictive than all the fans who’ve screamed my name.
The world is clamoring for me to get back on stage, but I’m not willing to leave her. I’ve got to find a way to coax the hermit from her shell and keep her with me. Because, with Libby, everything has changed. Everything.

Personally, I’m a sucker for a solid rock star romance. Kristen Callihan completely won me over with her awesome football NA series Game On, so I had high hopes that this would be just as steamy and addicting. No worries, Callihan was definitely able to deliver with Idol. So if you enjoy New Adult books that are filled with fabulous music references and a romance that you can totally cheer for, you’ve got to pick this one up! I can’t wait to read the rest of the books in this new series.

Libby is a woman who lives an isolated life. She crosses paths with Killian when he shows up drunk on her lawn. Much to her initial dismay, he turns out to be staying at the house next door to her. Gradually, the two begin to get to know each other better and strike up an unlikely friendship. Oh yeah, Killian also just so happens to be the lead singer of one of the most popular bands in the world (Libby didn’t initially recognize him and it took awhile for her to find out the truth) and he eventually has to go back on tour. Libby has always dreamed about being a singer, and she bonds with Killian through playing the guitar and writing songs. Thanks to Killian, music begins to play an even larger role in Libby’s life. But is fame all that it’s cracked up to be?

So Libby is a heroine who definitely isn’t afraid to speak her mind. I love how she stood up to Killian from the very beginning, and she never hesitated to tell him when he was being a jerk or whatever. While I did love her character in the beginning, I wasn’t a huge fan of some of her choices later on. I get that Libby has suffered a huge amount of loss in her life, like the deaths of her mother and father. At the same time though, I still feel like she didn’t have a lot of character growths in some areas. Honestly, it’s tough to talk too much about it without spoiling anything, but I’ll just say that she wasn’t my favorite in the end.

Killian was an amazing and unbelievably swoony love interest. There’s not much about this guy that I didn’t love. A lot has happened to Killian and his bandmates that ended up driving him to drink so much and also step away from the band for a pretty long time. In the end, he was still able to overcome the bad and get back to writing songs. Though he does strike up a friendship with Libby before anything deeper happens between them, he’s still extremely clear about the way he feels about her. Meaning, he never messes around with any other girls like a lot of the rock stars in NA books tend to do.

I really enjoyed the fairly slow build romance between Killian and Libby. I liked that Killian was able to find inspiration through Libby, and write songs with her. I feel like this is kind of a spoiler so I won’t go into a lot of details, but I didn’t like that Libby made the choice to hide their relationship from some people who were very important to Killian. I think it put him in an awkward position, and I didn’t really like seeing that. Overall though, the romance was still super swoony and I did love them as a couple.

Idol was a fascinating and well written rock star romance from Kristen Callihan. This author has proved once again why I find her books so entertaining. This book is very much character driven, and I found them all to be incredibly complex. Besides the main characters, I also really liked the supporting characters, like Killian’s bandmates, his cousin, and the band’s manager. It looks like the next book in the series will focus on the manager, which I can’t wait to see. Be sure to buy this one if you love music and steamy romances!

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

KCauthor

Kristen Callihan is an author because there is nothing else she’d rather be. She is a three-time RITA nominee and winner of two RT Reviewer’s Choice awards. Her novels have garnered starred reviews from Publisher’s Weekly and the Library Journal, as well as being awarded top picks by many reviewers. Her debut book FIRELIGHT received RT Magazine’s Seal of Excellence, was named a best book of the year by Library Journal, best book of Spring 2012 by Publisher’s Weekly, and was named the best romance book of 2012 by ALA RUSA. When she is not writing, she is reading.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Amazon Author Page

four-stars

Divider