Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire

Divider

ARC Review: Girl Out of Water

May 4, 2017 Reviews, Young Adult 0 ★★★

ARC Review: Girl Out of WaterGirl Out of Water by Laura Silverman
Published by Sourcebooks Fire on May 2nd 2017
Pages: 320
Source: Netgalley
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository
Goodreads
three-stars

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Anise Sawyer plans to spend every minute of summer with her friends: surfing, chowing down on fish tacos drizzled with wasabi balsamic vinegar, and throwing bonfires that blaze until dawn. But when a serious car wreck leaves her aunt, a single mother of three, with two broken legs, it forces Anise to say goodbye for the first time to Santa Cruz, the waves, her friends, and even a kindling romance, and fly with her dad to Nebraska for the entire summer. Living in Nebraska isn’t easy. Anise spends her days caring for her three younger cousins in the childhood home of her runaway mom, a wild figure who’s been flickering in and out of her life since birth, appearing for weeks at a time and then disappearing again for months, or even years, without a word.
Complicating matters is Lincoln, a one-armed, charismatic skater who pushes Anise to trade her surfboard for a skateboard. As Anise draws closer to Lincoln and takes on the full burden and joy of her cousins, she loses touch with her friends back home – leading her to one terrifying question: will she turn out just like her mom and spend her life leaving behind the ones she loves

I was expecting just a little bit more from this book. It was a solid debut, but my ridiculously high standards going into this might have been unfair. I’ve heard nothing but absolutely rave reviews about it so that’s what I was anticipating. It’s a good book, but not a great one. In my opinion, it felt as if it were missing something. I loved Lincoln, and there’s no way I can ever deny that. I just wasn’t a fan of the romantic choices made outside of Lincoln. Anyway, it was a nice light summer read that was mostly enjoyable. I just wasn’t completely captivated by it for whatever reason. It was just a mostly forgettable read that didn’t make that big of an impact on me personally. I hope I have better luck with this author’s next book!

Anise was a character that I found it difficult to identify with. She was pretty selfish in the beginning, and I didn’t agree with some of her choices. At the same time though, she’s just a teenager who’s trying to figure out who she is. I feel like she did have some character growth throughout, but not really that much. However, it seriously bothered me that she just stopped talking to her friends when she went to Nebraska. There was no good reason for it and it pissed me off honestly. I thought it was awesome that she was a surfer, though we obviously don’t get many scenes of this since she leaves California at the beginning of the novel for the summer. I just thought it was cool that she did it at all. For me, she was just an average character that didn’t have that many unique things about her that stood out to me.

You guys, Lincoln is a super cool guy. I don’t know if he’s one of my favorite book boyfriends of all time, but he’s definitely one of the better ones of the year. I wanted to know even more about his adoption and his history. I felt like in their interactions, Anise was always talking about her life much more than Lincoln was talking about his. He’s a good guy all around that I desperately wanted to see even more. Part of me wishes that this was told in dual points of view so we could get his side of it as well. He’s a sweet and swoony character.

The romance between Lincoln and Anise was pretty good. I feel like it did progress rather quickly. But I really liked seeing all of the adventures that they went on together. I also thought it was awesome how they initially bonded over Lincoln teaching her how to skateboard. I didn’t identify with how competitive Anise was about learning this so quickly, but I did like how patient and fun Lincoln was about it. All in all, the relationship that they had was a cute little summer romance that I really enjoyed.

Girl Out of Water is a decent book all around. It’s not really my favorite, but it was still a light and remotely fluffy book that I needed. It’s a good summer book that I do recommend. It wasn’t totally my kind of book due to my lack of being able to connect with the main character. I did really enjoy the supporting characters. Her three cousins were seriously adorable and I loved them. I also loved Anise’s relationship with her dad. I thought that was well written. I recommend this if you’re just looking for a fun read to kick off your summer. For me, it just felt like something was missing.

three-stars

Divider

ARC Review: You Before Anyone Else

August 16, 2016 Reviews, Young Adult 0 ★★★

ARC Review: You Before Anyone ElseYou Before Anyone Else by Julie Cross, Mark Perini
Published by Sourcebooks Fire on August 2nd 2016
Pages: 400
Source: Netgalley
Also by this author: Whatever Life Throws at You, Third Degree, Off the Ice (Juniper Falls, #1)
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository
Goodreads
three-stars

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Model Finley needs someone to help her shed her "good girl" persona, so she'll try Eddie on for size.
New York City model Finley is fed up with hearing the same feedback at castings: she needs to take some serious action to wipe the "good girl" stamp from her resume if she wants to launch to stardom.
Enter Eddie Wells. He's shallow, predictable…and just as lost as Finley feels. Deep down, Finley is drawn to Eddie's bravado, his intensity. Except Eddie is hiding something. A big something. And when it surfaces, both loving and leaving Finley will become so much harder.

This was a pretty cute contemporary read that I was able to read in just one sitting. Though not my favorite, I still enjoyed this book for the most part. I feel like the characters and the general plot wasn’t all that unique, but it was still a fun read. My standards were ridiculously high going in since I’ve absolutely adored Julie Cross’s books Whatever Life Throws at You and Third Degree. You Before Anyone Else doesn’t quite beat either of those works, but that’s probably not the most fair comparison anyway. I recommend this one if you’re looking for a YA book that is extremely fast paced and a pretty solid romance as well.

Honestly, I’m not completely sure how I feel about the plot. I think that more YA books should certainly explore the modeling and fashion industry. However, it seemed like too much was happening in the plot so there wasn’t much time to really go into more details about the industry and how it can personally affect those involved in different ways. I will admit that I didn’t guess the big secret that Eddie was keeping from Finley. I thought that the authors were mostly able to handle the twist in a well done fashion. Anyway, I’m glad that things like fashion shoots were explored in this story, I honestly haven’t read many (if any really) YA books that do.

Finley wasn’t a bad character or anything, but she wasn’t overly memorable either. I really did sympathize with her over the loss of her mother, and also having issues with dancing again. I had a lot of respect for her due to how she had to immediately grow up and help her father raise her little twin brothers. That being said, she was an extremely mature character and I totally enjoyed that about her. I also respected her for being able to communicate with Eddie when she discovers his secret, most girls would have likely ran in the other direction when they find something like that out. I wouldn’t say she’s my favorite female character, but she’s still a character that I was able to somewhat identify with and have a lot of respect for too.

Eddie was a fairly solid character too, though I wouldn’t say he’s my favorite either. He didn’t really have that many specific swoony moments throughout the book, but he still had a great personality and it was obvious how much he cared for Finley from fairly early on. I thought it made the book even better to also include Eddie’s POV in the story. Sometimes I feel like switching back and forth between the two main characters isn’t always necessary to the plot, but in this case, it made an important impact since we were able to have more insight into what his secret might have been. Though in the end, that didn’t really help me all that much and I wasn’t able to guess the secret, but the POV worked nonetheless. I liked Eddie a lot, and I felt like he also was rather mature for his age, and I respected some of the grownup decisions that he made throughout the story.

Finley and Eddie’s romance itself wasn’t all that unique, but I still liked it, just didn’t completely love it. I wasn’t a fan of the total insta-love between them. On top of that, it seemed like the romance moved at a rather fast pace. In the end though, I did cheer for them as a couple and wanted them to receive a happy ending. My favorite scenes that showcased them as a couple were the ones when Eddie hangs out with Finley and her little brothers and also her dad. Her little brothers were the best and I loved how Eddie naturally interacted with them. So I’ve read that You Before Anyone Else is kind of a crossover between YA/NA, but I consider it mostly YA due to the fade to black sex scenes. I know that not all NA books have a ton of sex, but this one had sex scenes, they just weren’t descriptive. All in all, I found myself rather invested in the romance here.

While I wouldn’t say that this book was a huge standout for me, I still found it extremely interesting from the very first page. Finley and Eddie were pretty realistic and intriguing characters in my opinion. Additionally, I found the supporting characters hilarious and endearing too! I was expecting to truly love this book since Julie Cross is such an incredible author from what I’ve read so far, but unfortunately it was lacking some of the unique elements that the others contained. I do think you should read this since it’s a sweet and fascinating story that you could easily read in just one day!

three-stars

Divider

ARC Review: Defending Taylor

July 11, 2016 Reviews, Young Adult 1 ★★★★

ARC Review: Defending TaylorDefending Taylor by Miranda Kenneally
Published by Sourcebooks Fire on July 5th 2016
Pages: 304
Source: Netgalley
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository
Goodreads
four-stars

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

There are no mistakes in love.
Captain of the soccer team, president of the Debate Club, contender for valedictorian: Taylor's always pushed herself to be perfect. After all, that's what is expected of a senator's daughter. But one impulsive decision-one lie to cover for her boyfriend-and Taylor's kicked out of private school. Everything she's worked so hard for is gone, and now she's starting over at Hundred Oaks High.
Soccer has always been Taylor's escape from the pressures of school and family, but it's hard to fit in and play on a team that used to be her rival. The only person who seems to understand all that she's going through is her older brother's best friend, Ezra. Taylor's had a crush on him for as long as she can remember. But it's hard to trust after having been betrayed. Will Taylor repeat her past mistakes or can she score a fresh start?

I’ve been a fan of Miranda Kenneally for awhile now and Defending Taylor didn’t disappoint. This is an incredible novel with a swoony boy and an awesome sport. More than that, it also portrays some of the challenges that teenagers face. Taylor has to make a difficult choice regrading someone that she cares about, and this is a place that many of us can understand, even if the circumstances are different. I wouldn’t say that this is my favorite Miranda book, Breathe, Annie, Breathe still holds that title. But I will say that it’s an easy read filled with memorable characters and a romance that will take your breath away.

So Taylor is a great character who I personally wasn’t able to identify with completely, but I truly respected her. She has her flaws, but she is selfless and will do anything to protect people that she cares about. Yes, this sometimes causes trouble for herself, but she always has pure intentions in the end. Taylor is fascinating, and I enjoyed reading about her journey and seeing her character growth. She starts out being a more than a bit stuck up, to understanding that privilege doesn’t always get you ahead in life. It was a great subject to focus on and watch gradually evolve.

Ezra was definitely one of the best parts of the book by far. He starts off being a bit misunderstood due to a secret that he keeps that causes Taylor (and others) to have a poor impression of him, but you’ll love him once everything is brough to light. Anyway, I’m always a sucker for a brother’s best friend type of romance, and this is a fabulous one for sure. Ezra isn’t my favorite boy of Miranda’s, Matt and Jeremiah are tied, but he’s still fairly high up on the list. It’s difficult to explain exactly why he’s so amazing, all I can do is advise you to read and discover for yourself.

One of my favorite aspects of Miranda Kenneally’s writing is that the romance is mature and honest. She doesn’t shy away from the subject of sex which I really respect and appreciate. Taylor loses her virginity to her longtime boyfriend Ben, and though she had a crush on Ezra before she started dating him, that doesn’t change the fact that she still loved and respected him as well. I liked how she approached the subject in general, it was extremely well written all around. On top of that, there’s also sex scenes between Ezra and Taylor. None of them are totally fade to black, but they aren’t ridiculously explicit either. Some people might be a little weary of teens reading this, but in my opinion, teens NEED to read this because of the honesty of it all. Some teenagers have sex, some don’t, I think that it’s good to include this without making a huge deal about it. Meaning, Taylor having sex isn’t shown as being this bad or good thing that takes up half the book, it’s portrayed as something natural, but not essential for all teens. It’s hard to described fully, but to put it simply: I like how it was portrayed.

All lectures about how sex in YA is an important thing to include aside, Defending Taylor was a solid book. It made me feel all different types of feelings: happy, sad, angry, infuriated, and every other emotion in between. If you have yet to read anything by this author, you need to do that right away. Defending Taylor is a standalone novel, but you’ll enjoy it more if you read all her books since they all exist in the same world. I highly recommend picking up this novel right away!

four-stars

Divider

ARC Review: This Song Is (Not) for You

December 31, 2015 Reviews, Young Adult 2 ★★★★

ARC Review: This Song Is (Not) for YouThis Song Is (Not) for You by Laura Nowlin
Published by Sourcebooks Fire on January 5th 2016
Pages: 240
Source: Netgalley
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository
Goodreads
four-stars

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Ramona and Sam are best friends. She fell for him the moment they met, but their friendship is just too important for her to mess up. Sam loves April, but he would never expect her to feel the same way-she's too quirky and cool for someone like him. Together, they have a band, and put all of their feelings for each other into music.
Then Ramona and Sam meet Tom. He's their band's missing piece, and before Ramona knows it, she's falling for him. But she hasn't fallen out of love with Sam either. How can she be true to her feelings without breaking up the band?
"Educators and librarians looking for fast-moving, interesting plots, in-depth characters, and meaningful themes need to add this one to their shelves."-VOYA praise for If He Had Been with Me

This Song Is (Not) for You takes the love triangle and gives it an unexpected twist. Another bonus is that I have never read a book that explored asexuality and that was a pleasant surprise. I feel like this is a topic that does need to be more discussed in YA literature. I feel like the author did a good job at capturing the confusion and also shame that comes from not having any sexual feelings and being a teenager. I won’t reveal which character it is that identifies as being asexual, but it isn’t really anything that the author keeps a secret for long. I think we learn it pretty early on. This book is definitely unique, I’ve never read anything exactly like it. I recommend it for sure!

As a lover of music, this book was right up my alley. Some of the narration was a little confusing since it went back and forth between the three main characters, but it was still nice to get to see what all of the characters were thinking. I feel like Ramona’s voice was the strongest, it was easy to like her. She’s passionate about what she does, and I loved that about her. Sam and Tom also had that passion, and I’m not sure which character I liked better out of those two. Nowlin did a good job at making you like and cheer for both of them.

In the end, this book may not be for everybody. However, I found it to be charming and also well done. If you despise love triangles, I can see why you might shy away from this book. I won’t say much about it, but I will say that the direction the book goes in isn’t what I expected and it’s not what you discover in your typical YA book. I’ve said too much already, but all that’s left to say is that I rec this book.

four-stars

Divider

ARC Review: This is Where It Ends

December 30, 2015 Reviews, Young Adult 0 ★★★

ARC Review: This is Where It EndsThis Is Where It Ends by Marieke Nijkamp
Published by Sourcebooks Fire on January 5th 2016
Pages: 292
Source: Netgalley
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository
Goodreads
three-stars

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

10:00 a.m.The principal of Opportunity, Alabama's high school finishes her speech, welcoming the entire student body to a new semester and encouraging them to excel and achieve.
10:02 a.m.The students get up to leave the auditorium for their next class.
10:03The auditorium doors won't open.
10:05Someone starts shooting.
Told over the span of 54 harrowing minutes from four different perspectives, terror reigns as one student's calculated revenge turns into the ultimate game of survival.

So to start this off, this is obviously a very emotionally charged novel. It’s also extremely fast paced to the point where it’s a little difficult to keep up at times. I also felt like it was hard to feel truly connected to all of the characters. Having four different altering perspectives is tough because it allows for less and less time to actually become emotionally involved in the characters. As a whole, this was a novel that kept you engaged in every single page, my attention never once wavered while reading this book. I also believe that this is one of those topics where some people are going to be intrigued and others are still kind of shying away from it because it hits too close to home or is just straight up uncomfortable for them. I get that, but I also believe that this is an important story and people should definitely read this novel!

This is Where It Ends was a hard hitting debut. Another reason why I rated it what I did was because I felt a complete disconnect to the shooter Tyler. I wanted to understand more about why he did what he did. Yes, we get an insight into his past, but I feel like we never go as in depth into what makes him tick. Instead, the author chose to portray him as just a completely cruel and sick human when I feel like it should have been more exploration into his exact mindset. Truthfully, I found myself simply flipping through some pages because I wanted to get to the end. I hated not knowing who was going to live and who was going to die, so the book definitely had the suspenseful thing down to a science. I just wish I was able to really CARE about all the characters.

When I first read it, I felt like it was really intense and an amazing but difficult read. Now that I’ve been able to sit back and reflect on what I’ve read, I question some of the characters and the lack of depth even more. That being said, this is one of those books that’s either going to be your thing or it’s just not, I landed somewhere in the middle of the two. I liked the author’s writing and I liked the message that she was sending, I just feel like we needed about 100 more pages to explore more of the characters and their motives.

three-stars
Rating Report
Plot
three-stars
Characters
two-half-stars
Writing
three-half-stars
Pacing
four-stars
Cover
four-stars
Overall: three-stars

Divider

Until We Meet Again Review

November 6, 2015 Reviews, Young Adult 0 ★★★★½

Until We Meet Again ReviewUntil We Meet Again by Renee Collins
Published by Sourcebooks Fire on November 3rd 2015
Pages: 336
Source: Netgalley
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository
Goodreads
four-half-stars

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

They exist in two different centuries, but their love defies time
Cassandra craves drama and adventure, so the last thing she wants is to spend her summer marooned with her mother and stepfather in a snooty Massachusetts shore town. But when a dreamy stranger shows up on their private beach claiming it's his own—and that the year is 1925—she is swept into a mystery a hundred years in the making.
As she searches for answers in the present, Cassandra discovers a truth that puts their growing love—and Lawrence's life—into jeopardy. Desperate to save him, Cassandra must find a way to change history…or risk losing Lawrence forever.

When I first began reading this book, I had no clue what to expect. The description looked interesting enough, but I typically am not huge on YA books that have historical and time travel elements. If you also share that belief, my advice is to just jump right into this book and not worry too much about anything else. Once I did this, I was pleasantly surprised by how glued to the pages that I was. It’s a gorgeous book about love, growing up, and find yourself in general. Renee Collins has a beautiful writing style that is so compelling and masterfully well done. It reads like a contemporary novel, and therefore the other elements actually make sense in a way. Yes, this isn’t exactly a possible thing that could happen to any of us. Truthfully though, that didn’t matter to me as a reader. I still found myself connected to Cassandra and Lawrence in a way that was unexpected to me personally.

What I loved most about this book was how amazing the characters were. I loved that Cass started out as this selfish and slightly immature girl, but gradually evolved into a caring and more mature character. I can’t really think of any character that developed and grew so much as a character in the way that Cass did throughout this fast paced novel. Lawrence was an incredible character from the very beginning. It’s pretty much impossible not to fall in love with him. At first, it was a little bit strange once you come to terms with the fact that he is living in the 1920’s while Cass is living in the present day. Once again though, it was the way that Renee wrote Lawrence that made it work. She used a lot of vintage 1920’s lingo that was adorable, and I also loved that his fashion was also appropriate for the times.

There is a ton of things happening in this book, so much that sometimes it can get a bit overwhelming. However, the plot did work for me. I won’t lie, the side of 1925 is one that I have never read about in a YA book, which just makes this all the more creative and unique. She reveals a dark side to the era that involves mobsters, tragedy, and a few murder mysteries thrown in for good measure. This part of the novel is bound to keep you on the edge of your seat until the very last page of the book. I felt like the dual POV’s gave us the opportunity to learn more about Lawrence and his complicated and dramatic, but always intriguing life in 1925.

So to wrap this review up, I just want to say that the ending gave me ALL of the feels. Obviously, I don’t want to give anything away here, but I will tease that it’s sure to ignite a combination of emotions for the reader. I felt like there was no other way to end it, the note that Collins ended it on was beyond perfect to me. Do I think that everyone is going to love this book? No, I don’t because some readers may not connect to the characters like I did. I do believe that there’s a high chance that you’ll love it if you’re looking for a book that combines different genres to make this intense and beautiful story. This is one that will stick with me for awhile and I’m glad that I pushed aside all of my preconceived notions and gave it a shot!

four-half-stars
Rating Report
Plot
four-half-stars
Characters
five-stars
Writing
five-stars
Pacing
four-stars
Cover
four-half-stars
Overall: four-half-stars

Divider

My Secret to Tell Review

October 5, 2015 Reviews, Young Adult 0

My Secret to Tell ReviewMy Secret to Tell by Natalie D. Richards
Published by Sourcebooks Fire on October 6th 2015
Pages: 320
Source: Netgalley
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository
Goodreads
There was blood on his hands. Where was the guilt in his eyes?
Emmie's had a crush on her best friend's brother forever. Deacon is the town bad boy who's always in trouble, but she sees his soft side when he volunteers with her at the local animal shelter. She doesn't think he's dangerous…until he shows up in her bedroom with blood on his hands.
Deacon's father has been violently assaulted and Deacon is suspect number one. Emmie's smart enough to know how this looks, but she also knows Deacon's biggest secret—he's paralyzed by the sight of blood. She's sure he didn't do this. Or did he? Because even Deacon's own sister thinks he's guilty…

After reading We Were Liars, I considered myself a (sometimes) fan of mystery/suspenseful YA books. Truthfully, I first requested this book because I thought it looked like a cute romance story from Sourcebooks Fire. I wasn’t expecting the mystery type side of the book to say the least. However, I still felt like I should give this book a shot and at the end of the day I’m glad that I did. Perhaps I have my bar set too high, but I feel like it did not rival with We Were Liars as far as suspense goes. My Secret to Tell might catch your eye if you’re a fan of the genre, but I’m not sure how non-fans of the genre will like it.

One of the reasons why I am pretty picky when it comes to what mystery books I read is because most (not all) seem to not have all that much romance. Of course I love a well developed plot filled with unpredictable twists, I also enjoy swoony book boyfriends. There were parts that had some sweet moments between Deacon and Emmie, but they were still fairly rare to say the least. I didn’t understand why Deacon was suddenly interested in Emmie, especially when they’ve known each other for the majority of their lives. I kept waiting for the reason to be revealed and I was disappointed that we didn’t get more of that vital information.

A positive note is that the book does keep you guessing. There’s obviously a lot more to the story than what meets the eye and I like that Richards had a fascinating way of revealing all that. I’ve never read any of her previous works, but I did like her writing in this one. Personally though, I was anticipating even more twists which maybe is a little unfair, but that’s just my personal preference when it comes to this genre.

At the end of the day, this wasn’t a horrible story by any means. I think the writing was decent and I was pretty intrigued. I definitely plan on picking up her books in the future and hopefully her next one will be one I can connect with in a way that this one simply didn’t. The events in the book all happened extremely fast, which was at times difficult to follow for me. Don’t let my take on the book discourage you from reading this book though! I do recommend it for those of you that want something quick to read that will keep you on edge. It just wasn’t what I was expecting but hopefully the next book will be!

Rating Report
Plot
two-half-stars
Characters
three-stars
Writing
four-stars
Pacing
two-half-stars
Cover
five-stars
Overall:

Divider

Mini Review: The Truth About Us

September 24, 2015 Reviews, Young Adult 0 ★★

Mini Review: The Truth About UsThe Truth About Us by Janet Gurtler
Published by Sourcebooks Fire on April 7th 2015
Pages: 304
Source: Library
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository
Goodreads
two-stars
A powerful and gripping contemporary YA from the author of I'm Not Her that's "Just right for fans of Sarah Dessen and Jodi Picoult."-Booklist
The truth is that Jess knows she screwed up.She's made mistakes, betrayed her best friend, and now she's paying for it. Her dad is making her spend the whole summer volunteering at the local soup kitchen.
The truth is she wishes she was the care-free party-girl everyone thinks she is.She pretends it's all fine. That her "perfect" family is fine. But it's not. And no one notices the lie...until she meets Flynn. He's the only one who really sees her. The only one who listens.
The truth is that Jess is falling apart – and no one seems to care. But Flynn is the definition of "the wrong side of the tracks." When Jess's parents look at him they only see the differences-not how much they need each other. They don't get that the person who shouldn't fit in your world... might just be the one to make you feel like you belong.

I probably should have just skipped this one altogether. It wasn’t an enjoyable read for me as a whole. Parts of it really struck my attention and made me want to keep reading, then I’d reach a part that just made me want to stop reading. It does explore the issue of social class, but I’ve read other YA books that pulled it off in a much more natural fashion. I felt like this book only scratched the surface on this issue and didn’t go deep enough. The ending also REALLY put me off, I just didn’t understand why it ended there. All in all, this was a book with much more flaws than strengths.

I didn’t click with either Jess or Flynn, which obviously makes me feel disconnected with the story. I wasn’t all that invested in the plot or the characters, but the ending still rubbed me the wrong way to say the least. I’m not going to say much about it, but I’ll leave it at the ending just wasn’t necessary and it didn’t seem realistic to me either. Both characters had their fair share of respective issues, but I felt like some of the drama was also not needed. I wanted more focus on the relationship between Jess and Flynn, not a ton of drama with just a little bit of romance thrown in for a few pages here and there. I didn’t feel good about the majority of the decisions made by Flynn, and Jess wasn’t 100% innocent in some areas. However, I felt like it was Flynn who was the real fickle one. On one page, he would be certain that he and Jess were meant to be together, but then the next he was calling her spoiled and saying they wouldn’t work out. It gave me whiplash and was another thing that made me want to stop reading.
Why did I keep reading if there were so many things that made me want to stop? In short, I pretty much ended up skimming quite a bit of the pages. I wanted to read a contemporary YA book that was light. This one wasn’t as light as I was anticipating, it had a lot more drama. One of the positives is that I do think that the writer has a lot of potential. She really channeled Jess’s voice and I liked her storytelling methods. Anyway, this wasn’t the worst book I’ve ever read, but there were plenty of weaknesses about the book that certainly rubbed me the wrong way.
two-stars

Divider