Author: Megan Erickson

Divider

Blog Tour: Mature Content Review

June 2, 2017 Blog Tours, Reviews 0 ★★★★

Blog Tour: Mature Content ReviewMature Content (Cyberlove, #4) by Megan Erickson, Santino Hassell
Published by Megtino Press on June 2nd 2017
Pages: 218
Source: A Novel Take PR
Also by this author: Strong Signal (Cyberlove, #1), Fast Connection (Cyberlove #2), Overexposed (In Focus, #4), Daring Fate (Silver Tip Pack #1), Strong Signal (Cyberlove, #1), Fast Connection (Cyberlove #2), Sutphin Boulevard (Five Boroughs, #1), Sunset Park (Five Boroughs, #2), First and First (Five Boroughs, #3), Interborough (Five Boroughs, #4)
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository
Goodreads
four-stars

I received this book for free from A Novel Take PR in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

My life plan is to be brutally honest all the way to the bank. Don't believe me? I run a popular YouTube channel called TrashyZane, and my claim to fame is oversharing about every aspect of my personal life. Sometimes while tipsy. Not everyone loves my style, but I have a long history of icing out people who can't handle me. I have no time for judgmental foolishness.
Except, apparently, when it comes to Beau Starr. His channel is the polar opposite of mine, and so is he. Wholesome, inspirational, and clean-cut. Everything about him should turn me off, but when we hook up following a confrontation at a convention, my world flips upside down. Not only does Beau Starr turn me on, he uses the exact combination of dirty talk and roughness needed to turn me out.
But we still hate each other. I think.

EXCERPT:

I shifted closer to him, and, like an invisible rope was pulling us together, he leaned into me, until I could feel his breath and the heat from his body. I cupped his face, rubbing my thumb over the corner of his lip, then closed the distance between us to press a soft kiss to his lips. I didn’t control this kiss, and neither did he. It was an equal give and take, a push and pull of our tongues, our breaths, as our hands grasped each other’s faces, hair, skin.

Every time with Zane had been a rush to get off, but this time, I wanted to explore his mouth, to enjoy the kiss without it being foreplay. It was the main attraction to moan into Zane’s mouth, to feel his soft, huffed breaths.

When I pulled away, I was dizzy, and Zane’s eyes were glazed, his lips wet and puffy. I was terrified at what I felt in that moment, how much I wanted to fall back into the kiss, to not worry about what anyone thought, or how Beau Starr would be forever changed if word got out he’d fallen for TrashyZane.

And in this car with Los Angeles spread out before us, I didn’t want to think about anything but the messy, long-haired boy who’d managed to loosen my tongue and just about every other part of me. “I kinda like you, Zane. A lot.”

His eyelids fell to half-mast. “I like you too, Beau. A lot.”

REVIEW:

Mature Content was yet another fabulous book in this series. Unlike the other three, this one explores two YouTubers, which brings a whole new side to an internet romance. I loved learning more about this community. This was a steamy and intense romance. It’s a little different from the previous ones just because Beau and Zane absolutely can’t stand each other in the beginning. Anyway, this was a funny and clever book that was well written. As always, this series is filled with memorable characters, both main and supporting. You get so invested in the plot, characters, and romance that you can’t help but instantly fall in love with all of it. I’m not sure if it’s my favorite of the series, but it was still really great.

Beau is a character that I fell in love with back in Hard Wired. In that one, he was the main character Jesse’s cousin who is a big YouTube star who makes encouraging videos for the LGBTQ community. He’s a lovely guy, though his video personality doesn’t always reflect who he actually is. He chooses to talk more about the positives of the community, being gay, and things along those lines. But he never really discusses the negative side of the community and in his own life. Though he seems to have it all together on the outside, he’s actually keeping a secret about his past, which is what led him to start making videos in the first place. Beau definitely had his faults at times, like sometimes it did seem like he was slut shaming Zane. But the authors handled the situation in a well written and sensible manner in my opinion. He has his personal demons, but he’s still a great person at the end of the day.

On the other hand, Zane is a hot mess to say the least. He’s blunt, and he has no problem with putting all of his personal life out there. In Hard Wired, Ian loved watching his videos because he felt like he was so real. We also saw in Hard Wired that Beau and Zane seemed to be bothered by one another’s videos for differing reasons. Anyway, Zane is definitely an interesting character who is a lot of fun. I thought his POV was always enjoyable. I loved how Zane was unapologetically himself. He made no apologies for he was to his family or anyone else who had an issue with it, which I seriously respected.

As I’ve already mentioned a few times, Beau and Zane have a hate to love relationship in Mature Content. Why do they hate each other? Well, Beau feels like Zane making videos about all the details of his personal life are way too much information, even though secretly it kind of turns him on. But Beau likes to snub him in videos so they have kind of a feud going on. Zane feels like Beau is too stuck up and just downright fake. As I said earlier, Beau does slut shame Zane, but it does get shut down. I won’t reveal too much about the details, but just keep in mind that the authors don’t just let his comments go easily. Beau and Zane have some fierce and steamy sex scenes. As you might have guessed, they have quite a bit of hate sex. That might not be everyone’s thing because the actual romance takes awhile to kick in, but it’s pretty lovely when it does.

Mature Content is the fourth book in the Cyberlove series. I’m honestly not sure which one is my favorite because I’ve thoroughly enjoyed each of them and this is no exception. Megan and Santino are both fabulous writers in their own right, but even more powerful when they come together as a team. I hope that they write more books together in the future. There’s one YouTuber that we’re introduced to that I think could potentially receive his own book. That would be awesome to read about. I loved the exploration of YouTube culture and felt like they handled it well. This was a fast paced read and I’m happy that I picked it up!

ABOUT SANTINO HASSELL:

https://box1078.bluehost.com:2096/cpsess2774242518/horde/imp/view.php?actionID=view_attach&id=4&muid=%7B5%7DINBOX2399&view_token=69iRvh_FZ37mlOQ7eJV6pLY&uniq=1496434237767

Santino Hassell was raised by a conservative family, but he was anything but traditional. He grew up to be a smart-mouthed, school cutting grunge kid, then a transient twenty-something, and eventually transformed into an unlikely romance author.

 

Santino writes queer romance that is heavily influenced by the gritty, urban landscape of New York City, his belief that human relationships are complex and flawed, and his own life experiences.

www.santinohassell.com

Santino@santinohassell.com

https://www.facebook.com/santinohassellbooks

https://www.goodreads.com/santino_hassell

amazon.com/author/santinohassell

 

ABOUT MEGAN ERICKSON

https://box1078.bluehost.com:2096/cpsess2774242518/horde/imp/view.php?actionID=view_attach&id=5&muid=%7B5%7DINBOX2399&view_token=69iRvh_FZ37mlOQ7eJV6pLY&uniq=1496434303219

Megan Erickson is a USA Today bestselling author of romance that sizzles. Her books have a touch of nerd, a dash of humor, and always have a happily ever after. A former journalist, she switched to fiction when she decided she likes writing her own endings better.

She lives in Pennsylvania with her very own nerdy husband and two kids. Although rather fun-sized, she’s been told she has a full-sized personality. When Megan isn’t writing, she’s either lounging with her two cats named after John Hughes characters or… thinking about writing.
For more, visit meganerickson.org

Website: www.meganerickson.org

Amazon: http://amzn.to/2qHcnD2

Twitter: https://twitter.com/MeganErickson_

IG: https://www.instagram.com/meggiejoknows/
FB Group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/1440306062901719/

FB: https://www.facebook.com/authormeganerickson/

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/mrsmeggiejo/

four-stars

Divider

ARC Review: Daring Fate

November 13, 2016 Reviews 0 ★★★★

ARC Review: Daring FateDaring Fate (Silver Tip Pack #1) by Megan Erickson
on November 14th, 2016
Source: Megan Erickson
Also by this author: Strong Signal (Cyberlove, #1), Fast Connection (Cyberlove #2), Overexposed (In Focus, #4), Mature Content (Cyberlove, #4)
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository
Goodreads
four-stars
five-flames

I received this book for free from Megan Erickson in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

We all have tragic backstories in today's world.
I wake up chained to the wall of a dark cell aware of two things: I failed my sister, and I smell my enemy.
When I’m taken to meet Dare, the alpha of the Silver Tip pack, I’m sure I’m about to lose my throat. The last thing I expect is for the Alpha to recognize me as his fated mate. No way is he going to let me go now, and I still have to find a way to rescue my sister.
As I plot my escape to save her, I find that if I leave, Dare could be killed by power-hungry members of his pack. And now he’s more to me than my fated mate—my heart is involved. With time ticking by on my sister’s life, I have to make a choice I never thought I’d face—my sister’s life or my mate’s? That’s if I can survive the undead shifters intent on killing me first...

You guys, this book is amazing. I’m not a huge fan of any paranormal or shapeshifter romances honestly. However, I adore Megan Erickson and I was so excited that she was writing more M/M, so I decided to give it a shot regardless of the genre. Sure enough, Erickson managed to make me actually enjoy this genre. She’s written a beautiful cast of characters and a memorable and intense world. This was definitely outside of my contemporary comfort zone, but I’m glad that I read it. I recommend it if you loved Megan Erickson’s In Focus series or her Strong Signal series with Santino Hassell. Yes, it’s different but it still has Erickson’s signature witty writing and major swoony romance.

I loved Reese from page one. You could tell right away that he was such a strong fighter who didn’t back down for anyone, even for people much larger and stronger than him. He’s feisty and full of sass, which is something that I personally never get tired of seeing in an MC. I also loved how passionate he was about keeping his siblings safe. Reese has been through so much with the loss of his parents at a young age, so his siblings are really all that he has, which I respected. I think that he was a fabulous character and I really enjoyed being inside of his head.

Dare was somewhat difficult to warm up to at first. He was a bit of a controlling asshole at the beginning of the story. Aside from that, he still had such a kind heart and he did everything possible for his pack and also for Reese and his family. So yeah, he did earn more and more swoony points as the book progressed. He is still on the possessive side, but it never seemed like TOO much to me. I felt like Dare and Reese had an equal partnership, Dare wasn’t overly dominant over the entire relationship.

Not going to lie to you guys, there’s a ton of sex in this book. They literally have sex at around the 10% mark, so yeah, there’s not much actual relationship development before the physical side of the relationship begins. For the most part, this didn’t bother me since the scenes were actually so hot and didn’t feel entirely out of character since we knew all the context here. Reese and Dare are True Mates, and Erickson writes that sex is an important part of the actual mating process. Eventually though, they connect on more of a personal level as well, and the love that they have is something that we believe by the end of the story.

So I can’t totally judge on the paranormal aspect since I don’t have ANY adult paranormal romances that I can compare this one to. But I will say that I personally believed that the world building was fascinating. Erickson’s written a complete history about Weres, Noweres, and werewolves that’s so descriptive and never boring. I was truly wrapped up in this dystopian world that she’s created here. I also loved all of the supporting characters and can’t wait for more of their stories in the upcoming books for this refreshing new series.

Daring Fate was one of those books that I was unable to put down once I started reading it. Seriously though, as soon as I received the ARC, I started reading this in the middle of class, then hardly stopped reading throughout the remainder of my day. It’s a fast paced read, that becomes really intense at a certain point. If you read a lot of books in this genre, you’ll probably find the climax to be predictable, but I thought it was action packed and awesome to say the least. At this point, there isn’t anything that Megan Erickson writes that I’m not going to instantly buy and I recommend that you do the same!

four-stars

Divider

ARC Review: Overexposed

September 16, 2016 Reviews 0 ★★★★

ARC Review: OverexposedOverexposed (In Focus, #4) by Megan Erickson
on September 20th, 2016
Pages: 177
Source: Netgalley
Also by this author: Strong Signal (Cyberlove, #1), Fast Connection (Cyberlove #2), Daring Fate (Silver Tip Pack #1), Mature Content (Cyberlove, #4)
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository
Goodreads
four-stars

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Love runs wild on the Appalachian Trail in the latest from the author of Out of Frame and Focus on Me...   Levi Grainger needs a break. As a reality show star, he’s had enough of the spotlight and being edited into a walking stereotype. When he returns home after the last season of Trip League, he expects to spend time with his family, only to learn his sister is coming back from her deployment in a flag-draped casket. Devastated, Levi decides the best way to grieve will be to go off grid and hike the Appalachian Trail—a trip he'd planned to do with his sister.   His solitary existence on the trail is interrupted when he meets Thad, a quiet man with a hard body and intense eyes. Their connection is stronger than anything Levi has ever experienced. But when Levi discovers the truth about what Thad is hiking to escape, their future together looks uncertain, and uncertainty is the last thing Levi needs...

I’m such a huge fan of Megan Erickson’s In Focus series, and I have to say that this is probably my favorite. We were introduced to Levi as being the token gay guy on his reality show on the last book. In his book, we learn that he’s much more than that, the producers simply edited him that way. He’s just your average guy who needs a break from reality, so he decides to hike the Appalachian Trail, just like he always planned to do with his best friend/sister. Unfortunately, his sister recently died while fighting over in Afghanistan, but he feels like he still has to hike the trail in her memory. Anyway, this was such a lovely book! Both Thad and Levi were such well developed characters. I highly recommend this book if you want a beautifully written romance that will stick with you for a long time after reading.

Levi was such a fabulous main character. He’s suffering a great deal over the loss of his beloved sister, and I really identified with him. As anyone who has suffered the loss of someone close to them knows, we all deal with grief in different ways. Levi’s way was to do something that brought him closer to his sister, since this was something that he was only going to ever do for her in the first place. Levi ends up being pretty ill prepared for the trip, but thankfully he discovers Thad! Before I talk about him though, I want to say Levi is just incredible. I wanted to hug him over and over again throughout the novel.

Thad is a rather mysterious character to say the least. The entire book is told through Levi’s POV except for some texts at the end of some chapters that are between T and M. T is clearly Thad, and these are texts from someone back home. For a lot of the book, these texts are truly the only form of insight into the mind of this guy. From the time that he and Levi randomly meet in the woods, he never has much to say. Sometimes I’m not a fan of these characters because they are so closed off, but in this case, it completely worked. Thad is the only character I’ve ever read that identifies as demisexual. This means that you have to have a strong emotional connection with someone in order to do anything sexual. This makes them on the asexual spectrum. I felt like this was important to include because more people need to be educated with these terms.

As a couple, Thad and Levi are basically amazing. It starts off with Thad saying nothing to Levi as they journey on together. Levi is one of those people that just needs to talk at pretty much all times. So Thad just silently listens as Levi tells him stories. Slowly though, they do get to know each other more and I loved seeing their relationship develop both emotionally and physically. However, there’s naturally a huge roadblock that creates some drama between them. In some books, I tend to hate the drama. In this case, the drama completely made sense. I felt like Megan Erickson couldn’t have written it any better.

Overexposed is my favorite book in this entirely memorable series by a wonderful author. I have no clue why I haven’t written reviews for the other three books in this series, probably because I started it kind of late, but I still thoroughly enjoyed every single book. You don’t have to have read the others in order to enjoy this, but I do recommend it since there’s an incredible scene at the end that reunites all the couples. Read this if you’re looking for a fast paced M/M romance!

four-stars

Divider

Fast Connection Review

July 17, 2016 Reviews 0 ★★★★★

Fast Connection ReviewFast Connection (Cyberlove #2) by Megan Erickson, Santino Hassell
on July 11th, 2016
Source: Purchased
Also by this author: Strong Signal (Cyberlove, #1), Overexposed (In Focus, #4), Daring Fate (Silver Tip Pack #1), Mature Content (Cyberlove, #4), Strong Signal (Cyberlove, #1), Sutphin Boulevard (Five Boroughs, #1), Sunset Park (Five Boroughs, #2), First and First (Five Boroughs, #3), Interborough (Five Boroughs, #4), Mature Content (Cyberlove, #4)
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository
Goodreads
five-stars
five-flames
After a decade of serving in the Army, everyone still expects me to be Dominic 'Nicky' Costigan--the skirt-chasing player. They don't know I've been spending my days trying to figure out my post-military life. Including how to pick up guys.
When I meet Luke on a hookup app, he makes it clear it's for one-night only. That's fine with me, because I'm down to see what this silver fox can do. But after I arrive at his doorstep, it doesn't take long to realize we have serious chemistry, and we end up meeting again.
He's got more walls around his heart than a military base, but I think he's as addicted to me as I am to him. He can't resist me for long. I mean, who can? Except Luke's rules exist for a reason, and when I test his limits, things get complicated. Maybe too complicated.
*FAST CONNECTION is a standalone, full-length romance novel with no cliffhanger*

Wow, this book was seriously amazing! I’ve been waiting for it to come out since I first read Strong Signal back in February. It’s safe to say that these two amazing authors didn’t disappoint with their second book co-authoring together. Fast Connection is a beautifully written and fast paced novel that definitely managed to keep my interest throughout the entire book. Dominic and Luke are two flawed but incredible characters that you can’t help but love from the very first page. I really identified with both of them for several different reasons. I was beyond impressed with this book. Honestly, there aren’t any bad things to say about Fast Connection at all. I felt like the romance was steamy but also well developed at the same time. I highly recommend reading this book if you’re a fan of fabulously written romances between two super hot men!

So Dominic or Nicky Costigan is totally my dude. He was portrayed as a douchebag who used Garrett somewhat in Strong Signal, but we gradually learn that there’s more to his story once we learn about his struggle with his sexuality. He’s just returned from so many years spent in the military and he isn’t sure what to do next with his life. He thinks that he wants to become an EMT, but for now he’s stuck working at his dad’s deli. He used to be a major manwhore, jumping from girl to girl. Now after his time in the military, he has come to terms with the fact that he also likes guys. Despite his few brief encounters with Garrett, he’s never really been with a guy, so that’s when he turns to Grindr to find someone to hook up with. Though he seems like a douchebag in some ways, he actually has a huge heart when it comes to his sister and anything else that he truly cares about. He’s a solid guy, and I loved how passionate he became when it came to particular things.

Luke is a seriously complicated guy to say the least. He’s quite a few years older than Dominic, and also lived a more full life in a lot of ways. He has two teenage kids and he’s divorced. Like Dominic, he was also in the military, but he was unfortunately dishonorably discharged for incredibly stupid reasons. After a crazy ex gets a little too close to his kids, Luke is hesitant to start anything serious with anyone. Instead he simply meets random hookups on Grindr when his kids are gone and then quickly moves on to the next one. I was able to identify with the trust issues that Luke had, though sometimes I wanted him to open up more with Dominic just because he’s such a loving and honest guy. He’s a wonderful father who makes so many sacrifices just to make his kids lives even better than they are. One of my favorite things about him is how the authors portray his sexuality. He identifies as bisexual because he really did love his wife, they just weren’t meant to be a couple, but still stay close friends. It seems like characters who are bisexual are still relatively low, so it was nice to see it here.

The relationship between Dominic and Luke was pretty great and steamy all around. I loved the chemistry that was very present from their first encounter. Yes, it obviously got pretty sexual really fast, but I still felt like it was handled. As already mentioned, Luke has commitment issues and it takes him quite some time to get used to having Dominic around. I also felt like it was interesting how Dominic and Luke’s paths ended up crossing in ways outside of their weekend hookups. Once they finally become a couple, I really enjoyed seeing their love progress and become gradually stronger as the book went on. It was a beautiful and steamy love story that I couldn’t get enough of! I love both of them individually, and they are seriously a forced to be reckoned with as a couple.

I can’t recommend Fast Connection enough to you guys! It features two incredible characters who have flaws, but still are extremely great people. The plot wasn’t all that complicated, but it didn’t need to be. It’s just about two guys trying to figure out who they are, want they want, and what they want to do with their lives. Ultimately, who can’t relate to at least some of that? It’s a beautiful and honest thing to read about, and I love seeing that. This was a fabulous book and I’m hoping that Megan Erickson and Santino Hassell are able to right together again, because they are definitely amazing at it!

five-stars

Divider

Strong Signal Review

February 26, 2016 Reviews 2

Strong Signal (Cyberlove, #1) by Megan Erickson, Santino Hassell
Published by Megtino Press on February 15th 2016
Pages: 235
Source: Purchased
Also by this author: Fast Connection (Cyberlove #2), Overexposed (In Focus, #4), Daring Fate (Silver Tip Pack #1), Mature Content (Cyberlove, #4), Fast Connection (Cyberlove #2), Sutphin Boulevard (Five Boroughs, #1), Sunset Park (Five Boroughs, #2), First and First (Five Boroughs, #3), Interborough (Five Boroughs, #4), Mature Content (Cyberlove, #4)
Reading Challenges: Contemporary Romance Challenge
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository
Goodreads
I was counting down the months until the end of my deployment. My days were spent working on military vehicles, and I spent my nights playing video games that would distract me until I could leave Staff Sergeant Garrett Reid behind.
That was when I met him: Kai Bannon, a fellow gamer with a famous stream channel.
I never expected to become fixated on someone who'd initially been a rival. And I'd never expected someone who oozed charm to notice me—a guy known for his brutal honesty and scowl. I hadn't planned for our online friendship to turn into something that kept me up at night—hours of chatting evolving into filthy webcam sessions.
But it did. And now I can't stop thinking about him. In my mind, our real life meeting is perfect. We kiss, we fall into bed, and it's love at first sight.
Except, like most things in my life, it doesn't go as planned.
Strong Signal is a standalone, full-length novel with no cliffhanger

Honestly, this was my first M/M New Adult book and I was so impressed with the writing from Erickson and Hassell. This book kept me completely glued to the page from start to finish. There’s tons of positive things to say about this read, I really don’t know where exactly to start. I guess I’ll say this: if you’re looking for a mature and hot read featuring a military man and a video game geek, this is for you. I know this sounds super specific, but it’s just a great feel good book that also has some serious depth to it. Kai and Garrett are both well rounded and fascinating. You’ll love them both equally, I didn’t have a favorite.

I wasn’t sure if the whole military and video game thing was something that appealed to me. I gave it a shot anyway because I’ve heard positive things about Erickson’s M/M books and so I started here. I’m SO glad that I tried it because these two worlds colliding work in a compelling manner. Kai has serious social anxiety and has barely left his apartment the past three years. Instead he hides behind the safety of his video games and makes a living from his Twitch stream. Basically, he has a large enough following on this popular streaming site that he makes a decent amount of money. I’m not going to lie, I’m kind of ignorant when it comes to video games and I thought that the authors had made the site up because I know that gamers release YouTube videos. However, I had no idea that this community existed and it was surprisingly intriguing reading about it. Though I did love Garrett just as much as Kai, I felt a special connection to the latter because I know how crippling social anxiety can feel. I really enjoyed Kai’s personality and his character growth that gradually develops throughout Strong Signal.

On the other hand, Garrett is a man who works on military vehicles over in Afghanistan. I absolutely adore his strong personality that shines through the pages. He doesn’t feel like he belongs in the military, he just went there to avoid being stuck in his small town in Pennsylvania. This was also something that I could relate to, not wanting to live in the same place you grew up in for your whole life. Anyway, playing video games becomes a distraction for him as he tries to make it through the rest of his deployment and then never go back. While playing his favorite game, he gets killed by a popular and experienced streamer. Of course, this turns out to be Kai. More on Garrett’s character though, he’s a gruff guy who has a totally incredible heart. I really felt for him concerning his romantic life. He’d never really connected with another guy on a romantic level before. He was just being used by guys in the past and then he comes across Kai and everything changes for both of them.

So the relationship begins by Garrett emailing Kai and then the basic friendship between them quickly grows into more. I had no idea how hot this relationship could be before the two even meet each other in person. In today’s world, it’s very much believable to me that this could happen. The emails turn into instant messaging which then turns to Skype. Obviously, these sessions get rather steamy. Truth be told, Garrett’s dirty talk is a major reason why those sessions get so intense. Beyond the physical stuff, the two just get each other and want to be together in person. Eventually, Garrett comes back to the states and the first place he goes is to Kai’s apartment. Kai’s initial reaction is not a positive one, he slams the door in his face because he is definitely overwhelmed by him just showing up there. What comes out of it though is a fabulous scene between the two that you don’t want to miss! All I can say is the swoon is pretty amazing. I love them as a couple, they balance each other out. Garrett never pushes his boyfriend too far, he respects that his social anxiety is a very difficult and real thing. I could ramble on about it more, but I’ll let you judge for yourself.

This was a book that I couldn’t put down. I told myself I’d read just a few more chapters, but that quickly became more and more until I reached the end and wanted to read another romance like this from Erickson. Though I have no idea which author wrote which voice, I feel like they were both filled with personality and heart. I’m interested in reading more from Hassell now, and I’ve read some reviews saying that his writing style is more gritty and a little on the darker side while Megan has a lighter (well besides Focus on Me) style. Regardless, I ended up enjoying it. This was a well written story that has a fabulous HEA. So if you’re a fan of those, I’m sure this will be something that you will like. I can’t wait to read Costigan’s story, a character who was over in Afghanistan with Garrett and struggled with his sexuality big time. Admittedly, he’s a douchebag with a strong personality from what we can see, but I still want to see him find his own happy ending like Garrett was able to have!

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Divider