Author: Lauren Blakely

Divider

ARC Review: The Hot One

March 2, 2017 Reviews 0 ★★★★

ARC Review: The Hot OneThe Hot One by Lauren Blakely
on February 27th 2017
Pages: 300
Source: InkSlinger PR
Also by this author: Mister O, The Sapphire Affair (Jewel, #1), Well Hung, The Sexy One
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository
Goodreads
four-stars

I received this book for free from InkSlinger PR in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

A sexy new standalone romance from #1 New York Times Bestselling Author Lauren Blakely...
Ever notice that sometimes a guy will do something really stupid, like let the love of his life slip through his fingers?
Yeah. I'm that guy. But the moment I run into the woman I once loved madly, I’ve got one goal and one goal only—a second chance. The plan? Go big or go home.
Fine, at first glance, stripping naked at my ex-girlfriend's place of work might not seem like the brightest way to win her heart again. But trust me on this count—she always liked me best without any clothes on. And you've got to play to your strengths when you're fighting an uphill battle. As a lawyer, I know how to fight, and I'm prepared to fight hard for her. Because sometimes you need a second chance at first love.
He's the one who got away . . . The nerve of Tyler Nichols to reappear like that at my job, showing off his rock-hard body that drove me wild far too many nights. That man with his knowing grin and mischievous eyes is nothing but a cocky jerk to saunter back into my life. Except, what if he's not . . .? I've tried like hell to forget him, but maybe I'm cursed to remember the guy I fell madly in love with eight years ago. Lord knows I’m not over him, so what's the harm in giving him a week to prove he's changed in the ways that matter?
After all, how do you resist the hot one…

I know I sound like a broken record at this point, but Lauren Blakely isn’t capable of writing a bad book. She constantly writes these absolutely beautiful love stories filled with fierce and memorable characters. Reading her books never gets old to me and I can’t wait for her next releases! I feel like she does such an excellent job at making us care so much about the world that these characters live in. What I mean is that some of these characters might just be featured in a few scenes, but Blakely’s writing causes you to become intrigued and want a story for them. I highly recommend this and any other book by her if you really want to laugh out loud! It’s such a light and humorous novel, which is something that all of us need more of.

Delaney was such a fabulous main character. I loved that she didn’t let Tyler off the hook so easily. She’s a strong and independent woman and I loved that about her. She wasn’t the most memorable character, but she was still interesting and fun. I also really respected that she was able to figure out what she loved before she got stuck in a career that wasn’t meant for her. Delaney also had an amazing friend group that included sweet Penny, who received her own story in The Only One. Anyway, I did like Delaney, I just didn’t exactly love her since she didn’t do much that was memorable or stood out to me.

Tyler is a rather swoony guy. I loved learning about him in previous Blakely books and have been waiting for his story for forever. He didn’t let us down. He was sexy, swoony, and determined to win over Delaney again. I loved how relentless and eager he was to show his affection for her. He wasn’t always smart about his decisions in the past, but I’m glad that he grew up in the end. Tyler is a guy who is just absolutely filled with personality. That’s not to say that her heroes usually aren’t, they are, and that’s something I’ve always enjoyed seeing so I’m glad that Blakely continues this with Tyler. The scene where he strips at Delaney’s work in order to win her back was totally priceless, creative, and hilarious. It truly fit Tyler’s personality in the best way possible.

This was a wonderful second chance romance. Delaney and Tyler were together in college but he broke her heart when he abruptly ended things. Naturally, she made him work for it when he wanted her back years later. Though it takes a little while, it’s definitely beautiful when they get back together. I thought it was very realistic that Delaney didn’t take him back right away, who would? He seriously screwed up, but also he continually showed her that he wasn’t that guy anymore. It’s also extremely hot and chemistry is not an issue between them! They were a strong and beautiful couple all around.

This was yet another beautiful romance from one of my favorite authors. I will read literally anything she writes because she has yet to let me down. Delaney and Tyler were such lovely and pretty fascinating characters on their own, but even better together. I thought they were both cool characters, and I’m glad that they both finally got a happy ending. I can’t recommend Lauren Blakely’s books enough, you need to pick this one up! I can’t wait to read The Wild One next.

four-stars

Divider

ARC Review: The Sexy One

October 16, 2016 Reviews 0 ★★★★★

ARC Review: The Sexy OneThe Sexy One by Lauren Blakely
Published by Createspace Independent Publishing Platform on October 17th 2016
Source: InkSlinger PR
Also by this author: Mister O, The Sapphire Affair (Jewel, #1), Well Hung, The Hot One
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository
Goodreads
five-stars

I received this book for free from InkSlinger PR in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

From the NYT Bestselling author of MISTER O, comes a sexy new standalone romance...
Let me count the ways why falling into forbidden love is not my wisest move...1. She works with me every single day.Did I mention she's gorgeous, sweet, kind and smart?2. She works in my home.Playing with my five-year-old daughter. Teaching my little girl. Cooking for my princess. Which means...3. She's the nanny.And that makes her completely off-limits...But it doesn't stop me from wanting her. All of her.
The other nannies in this city don't call him the Sexy One for nothing. My boss, the amazingly wonderful single father to the girl I take care of every day is ridiculously hot, like movie star levels with those arms,and those eyes, and that body. Not to mention, the way he dotes on his little girl melts me all over. But what really makes my knees weak are the times when his gaze lingers on me. In secret. When no one else is around.
I can't risk my job for a chance at something more...can I? But I don't know how to resist him much longer either...

Lauren Blakely has quickly became one of my absolute favorite contemporary romance authors. She has this unbelievable talent of getting inside the minds and hearts of these fabulous heroes. The Sexy One is a book that I’ve been looking forward to since we were introduced to Simon and Abby back in Mister O. This book has everything that I want in a quality romance: two likable characters, swoon, a relatively slow build-up, sexy times, and no unnecessary drama to speak of. My only complaint at all is that I wanted more! It was less than 200 pages and I could have used a bit more Abby, Simon, and his sweet daughter Hayden. Otherwise, this was a book that gave me so many wonderful feels.

Abby is an awesome main character. She’s such a sweet and caring woman, and it’s obvious that she loves the little girl that she is a nanny for, despite her undeniable attraction to her father. Though she’s been taking care of Hayden for months now, she finds it more and more difficult to be around him constantly and not want to make a move on him. I can’t say that I blame her, Simon is clearly a hot guy and basically everything he says and does is totally swoony. Anyway, I found Abby to be nice and extremely smart. I really enjoyed how independent and just generally cool she is from the beginning to the end.

Simon is someone that I could talk about for days! Who doesn’t love a hot single man who has a daughter that is his whole world? I loved all the scenes that showcased him interacting with Hayden in such a gentle and loving manner. Everything about Simon screamed perfect to me. He had such strong feelings for his nanny from the start, but he also didn’t want to risk losing a great sitter for his little girl. It speaks volumes about what kind of man he is that he easily puts his daughter’s happiness well above his own. Once he’s finally able to actually be with Abby, he becomes even more swoony, which I honestly didn’t think was possible. He says some unbelievably perfect things to Abby that are able to completely melt your heart. Here’s one example:

“I’ve been falling in love with you since the day we met.”

I love how he finally puts it all out on the line and tells Abby how he truly feels. And yet another example of his lovely way with words:

“If loving that amazing, vibrant, talented, brilliant woman is a cliché, then I’ll gladly slap the sign on my chest. I’m a cliché, and I’m okay with it.”

He says pretty much everything that so many girls dream of hearing. I loved being inside his head and learning directly about what he was thinking and feeling since Abby began working for him.

I have to say that the romance is easily my favorite part, as you can probably already tell. As mentioned, she starts off as being someone who he is physically attracted to from the moment that they first meet. However, he slowly falls in love with her once he gets to know her personality even more. I LOVED all of the random and slightly nerdy texts that they exchange from the start. It really highlighted how they started this friendship that gradually developed into more. Abby also begins tutoring him so he can learn a little bit of French. My point is, I liked seeing them bond over different things that leads to them spending even more time together besides her watching Hayden. Though the sex scenes come pretty late in the book, that doesn’t make them any less steamy. The steam is real towards the end! Another thing that I loved about them taking awhile to get together meant that there was no time for any drama. That’s something that I love seeing since drama is something can really break a romance novel for me.

The Sexy One was a short and fast paced novel that I absolutely adored. This is one of my favorite Lauren Blakely novels to date! I loved basically everything about this book. I don’t think that the relationship between Simon and Abby could have been any better. Lauren Blakely has created two memorable and beautiful characters. Yes, that might be a little two perfect, but I can’t help but love them anyways. I’ll definitely be on the lookout for a guy as hot and good with kids as Simon is! If you have yet to read a Blakely novel, you need to pick one up right away.

five-stars

Divider

Well Hung Review and Release Blitz

September 12, 2016 Blog Tours, Reviews 0 ★★★★

Well Hung Review and Release BlitzWell Hung by Lauren Blakely
Published by Lauren Blakely Books on September 12th 2016
Pages: 300
Source: InkSlinger PR
Also by this author: Mister O, The Sapphire Affair (Jewel, #1), The Sexy One, The Hot One
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository
Goodreads
four-stars
four-flames

I received this book for free from InkSlinger PR in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

From the NYT Bestselling author of MISTER O, comes a hot and hilarious new standalone...Here’s what you need to know about me — I’m well-off, well-hung and quick with a joke. Women like a guy who makes them laugh—and I don’t mean at the size of his d*ck. No, they want their funny with a side of huge… not to mention loyal. I’ve got all that plus a big bank account, thanks to my booming construction business. Yup. I know how to use all my tools.
Enter Natalie. Hot, sexy, smart, and my new assistant. Which makes her totally off limits... 

Hey, I’m a good guy. Really. I do my best to stay far away from the kind of temptation she brings to work.
Until one night in Vegas… 

Yeah, you’ve heard this one before. Bad news on the business front, drowning our sorrows in a few too many Harvey Wallbangers, and then I’m banging her. In my hotel room. In her hotel room. Behind the Titanic slot machine at the Flamingo (don’t ask). And before I can make her say “Oh God right there YES!” one more time, we’re both saying yes—the big yes—at a roadside chapel in front of a guy in press-on sideburns and a shiny gold leisure suit. 


But it turns out what happened in Vegas didn’t stay in Vegas. And now, my dick doesn’t stay in my pants when she’s around. I try to resist. Honest. But the more we try to keep our hands to ourselves, the more we end up naked again, and the more time I want to spend with her fully clothed, too.
The question now is…do I take this woman to be my ex-wife?

well-hung-available-everywhere

 

✮✮✮WELL HUNG is now available! ✮✮✮

A hot and hilarious standalone romantic comedy, WELL HUNG is about an easy going, and well hung gentleman who’s been burned by love in the past but finds himself falling fast and hard for the one person he cannot have. It takes everything you love about a Lauren Blakely novel –witty dialogue, smoking hot sex scenes, and heartfelt moments –and puts them into one fantastic book! Told in the guy’s POV, WELL HUNG is the sexy, irreverent tale of what happens when a carpenter who’s good with all his tools accidentally marries his gorgeous and fiery assistant one night in Vegas. The trouble is…what happens in Vegas doesn’t always stay in Vegas in this twist on an office romance.

 

“Well Hung should come with the label ‘Satisfaction Guaranteed’ because there isn’t one single sentence I didn’t absolutely love of this story! This book has laugh-out-loud humor as well as a romance that’s both heartwarmingly sweet and deliciously dirty.”

-Yvette at Nose Stuck in a Book

 

 

well-hung-rwb-teaser-1

 

 

“Deliciously naughty and side-splittingly hilarious!”

Kelly at Beneath the Covers

 

 

wellhungbangdontscrewnodateteaserh

“Romantic, hilarious, & ridiculously HOT!”

Musings of the Modern Belle

“You heard it first from us: Lauren Blakely wrote the HOTTEST rollercoaster scene ever!”

-The Rock Stars of Romance

 

 

 

adlickitfb

 

 

lauren-blakelys-men-of-romcom-banner

And don’t miss Lauren Blakely’s other standalone Romantic Comedies!

BIG ROCK
MISTER O

 

Excerpt:

She twirls the pen in her hand. “So who caused the contamination today? Was it Floyd or Kevin the oily electrician you tried to put a chokehold on?”

“Oily Kevin needed the chokehold. Agree or disagree?”

She nods. “Completely agree. There’s so much agreement in me, I can’t imagine how much more I could possibly agree.”

“The chokehold was one hundred percent certifiably necessary,” I add, since Kevin had hit on her when he stopped by a few weeks ago. Here’s the thing—Natalie could dropkick him in the blink of an eye. She could slam him to the ground herself. But that shit he pulled with the leering and lewd comments does not fly with me. I would have done the same if a dude tried to get fresh with my little sister, Josie, at the bakery where she works. So I’d dropped a hand on Kevin’s shoulder, Vulcan style, and promptly escorted him the fuck out of my office. No one, and I mean no one, gets to put the moves on my employees.

“It was Floyd today,” I tell her, then give her the safe-for-work version of the story—the one about Floyd’s client conquests, not his comments about banging assistants. There’s no need to have that hanging out there in the air between us. Can’t plant that forbidden idea in her head.

That risky, dangerous, dirty, filthy, completely fucking alluring idea. My eyes roam the office briefly, and I catalogue all the places that are calling out to be christened. Her desk, her chair, the floor…

Just like that, my head is a wild rumpus of inappropriate ideas. Exactly what it shouldn’t be. It’s like horny aliens have invaded my mind.

But I’m not Floyd. I can do better, so I picture a vise, jam the images into it, and crush them out of my mind. The dirty images and the horny aliens, too.

“And then I escorted him out of Lila’s home and said see ya later,” I tell her, finishing the story, as I drag a hand through my dark brown hair. “Like, in another lifetime later.”

“Hmmm…” she says.

“Hmm, that’s great, or hmm, why did I give one of our suppliers the heave-ho?”

“Hmm, as in your story gives me a good idea. Something I’ve wanted to do for a long time.”

“What’s that?”

Her eyes sparkle. Hers are a lighter shade than my dark blue. “Want me to find a new hinge supplier?”

The idea is beyond perfect. I smack my palm against the edge of her desk enthusiastically. “Yes. And for the record, you’re brilliant and beauty—“ I cut the last word off so it sounds like a low bass note. Note to self: Don’t call her beautiful when you’re berating other men for hitting on her at work.

She’s watching me, waiting for me to finish my sentence, and somehow I twist the words into a new compliment, as I say, “Brilliant, and…bountiful.”

Bountiful? Seriously? What the hell was that? Maybe she won’t notice.

No such luck.

“Bountiful?” she asks, skepticism thick in her tone. As it fucking should be. “I’m bountiful?”

I nod, going with it, owning it. “Your brain. It’s like a cornucopia of ideas. It’s a Thanksgiving bounty. It’s bountiful,” I say, because I’ve got to sell this cover-up.

She squares her shoulders. “If you say so, Hammer.” And this bountiful brain was two steps ahead today. I already found a new supplier. I called around, talked to some of our colleagues, and got some great recommendations. I already have a new hinge guy lined up.”

My smile spreads quickly. “Damn. You are three steps ahead of me.”

“A good assistant should be.”

Thoughts: Mister O is easily my favorite Lauren Blakely book, so I had high hopes for Wyatt and Natalie’s story in Well Hung. It’s safe to say that Blakely definitely didn’t let me down. Though I won’t say that I liked it better than Mister O, it still came pretty close. I absolutely love how this author manages to get inside the minds of these male characters. There honestly aren’t enough romance books out there that only tell things from the male POV. Most of the time it’s a dual POV if it’s not in the female’s perspective. This is an amazing and fast paced read that I highly recommend! I recommend starting with Big Rock then Mister O then Well Hung. Though these are all standalones, the characters are all very connected, so I personally love reading these series in order. Anyway, read this if you’re looking for a well developed steamy romance with a lovable and surprisingly sensitive hero!

I can’t say enough positive things about my boy Wyatt. Though I was absolutely in love with Nick from Mister O, I can’t deny the fact that Wyatt is definitely a character that I would totally date/marry in a heartbeat. He’s rather damaged due to his past relationships, but he’s still an incredibly caring and generous guy. I loved learning more about him and his history as the book progressed. Not to the mention that he also has a hilarious sense of humor. On top of all of that, he truly is a romantic and swoony guy that will easily take your breath away. It’s a tragedy that he’s not a real person.

On the other side of things, my girl Natalie was an amazing character as well. I really identified with her, and I was a huge fan of her personality as a whole. She was definitely the perfect match for Wyatt! I loved how she didn’t put up with any of his crap. On top of all that, she was able to manage him and his entire business and make it look easy. I thought it might be weird not getting directly inside of her head, like I might feel somewhat disconnected from her. Luckily though, that turned out not to be the case at all. I ended up adoring everything about her.

The romance and overall chemistry between them was naturally incredible! You can feel the heat between them from the start. They do wind up hooking up rather early in the book, which I wasn’t sure about at first. However, I ended up being totally okay with it in the end. Blakely’s writing is so good that it truly didn’t bother me. Anyway, the romance was extremely on the steamy side and I loved it. Although things heat up between them physically rather quickly, I still enjoyed getting to see them bond on a friendly level. Like some of my favorite scenes were the ones where they would go out to dinner after work and exchange slightly embarrassing childhood stories or whatever.

This was a fast paced and well written book. Well Hung easily lived up to my expectations. When has Lauren Blakely not written an amazing and memorable love story though? She tends to have quite a few standalone books where the characters are connected on some level to one another. I’m a major fan of these types of stories, and she has easily mastered them! I’m looking forward to reading Wyatt/Nick’s sister Josie’s story next!

well-hung-rwb-teaser-3

✮✮✮Enter to win three signed copies of WELL HUNG! ✮✮✮

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

author-pic-lauren-blakelyAbout Lauren Blakely:

Since self-publishing her debut romance novel CAUGHT UP IN US three years ago, Lauren Blakely has sold more than 1 million books. She is known for her sexy contemporary romance style that’s full of heat, heart and humor. A devout fan of cake and canines, Lauren has plotted entire novels while walking her four-legged friends. She lives in California with her family. With ten New York Times bestsellers, her titles have appeared on the New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal Bestseller Lists more than fifty times. Her bestselling series include Sinful Nights, Seductive Nights, No Regrets, Caught Up in Love, and Fighting Fire as well as standalone romantic comedies like BIG ROCK and MISTER O, which were both instant New York Times Bestsellers. In the fall she’ll release WELL HUNG, another romantic comedy. To receive an email when Lauren releases a new book, sign up for her newsletter, laurenblakely.com/newsletter!

 

Website ** Facebook ** Twitter ** Newsletter ** Goodreads

 

 

inkslinger-pr-blogger-banner
four-stars

Divider

Blog Tour: The Sapphire Affair Review

July 16, 2016 Blog Tours, Reviews 0 ★★★½

Blog Tour: The Sapphire Affair ReviewThe Sapphire Affair (Jewel, #1) by Lauren Blakely
Pages: 222
Source: Netgalley
Also by this author: Mister O, Well Hung, The Sexy One, The Hot One
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository
Goodreads
three-half-stars

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Bounty hunter Jake Harlowe knows how to track a criminal. So when a group of swindled shareholders hires him to trail their former CEO, Jake expects a quick trip to the Cayman Islands to close another case. Until a devastatingly beautiful woman gets in the way.
Steph Anderson is visiting the Caymans for a rock climbing and dive trip—or so she tells Jake. She’s really trying to find out whether or not her stepfather embezzled money from his company. The last thing Steph needs is the distraction of a sexy, charming man whose kisses drive her wild.
Soon, the pair discover they’re after the same target—and millions in jewels. While Jake can’t be certain Steph isn’t working for her stepfather, and Steph can’t be certain Jake isn’t after the diamonds for himself, they can agree the heat between them is intense, and neither can deny the passion for long.
But the morning after, Steph discovers that she just might have slept with the enemy, and now she’ll have to outwit him to get everything she needs…

 

The Sapphire Affair - Available Now

✮✮✮ THE SAPPHIRE AFFAIR is here! From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Blakely’s new contemporary romance Jewel Novel series, this enemies-to-lovers series is filled with sex, wit, glamour, and high stakes, with a rugged, ex-military, dirty-talking alpha hero! Don’t miss this explosive and passionate series! ✮✮✮

 

Lauren Blakely’s THE SAPPHIRE AFFAIR – Review & Excerpt Tour Schedule:

July 13th

Vagabonda Reads – Excerpt

Books Need TLC – Review

Lina’s Reviews: A Book Blog – Excerpt

A Taste of Sin – Excerpt

Smut Book Junkie Reviews – Review & Excerpt

July 14th

Marie’s Tempting Reads – Review & Excerpt

My Girlfriends Couch – Excerpt

Pretty Sassy Cool – Review & Excerpt

Friends Till The End Book Blog – Excerpt

Krista’s Dust Jacket – Review & Excerpt

Loves Great Reads Blog – Review & Excerpt

July 15th

The Reading Cafe – Review & Excerpt

Inner Goddess – Review

All Romance Reviews – Review

Evocativebookreviews – Review & Excerpt

Nerdy Soul – Review & Excerpt

July 16th

The Pervy Ladies Book Blog – Review & Excerpt

Book Bitches Blog – Review

Musings of the Modern Belle – Review & Excerpt

Go Read A Book – Review

A Bookish Mess – Review & Excerpt

Home. Love. Books. – Review

July 17th

Ripe For Reader – Review & Excerpt

InBookEden – Review & Excerpt

Ellesea Loves Reading – Excerpt

Book Briefs – Review

Sofia Loves Books – Review

July 18th

I Love Romance – Review & Excerpt

Author Groupies – Review

Love Drug Book Blog – Review & Excerpt

WTF Are You Reading? – Review

July 19th

Books and Things Blog – Review & Excerpt

Book Lit Love – Review

A Fortress of Books – Review

Romance Book Nerd – Review & Excerpt

Southern Vixens Book Obsessions – Excerpt

July 20th

The Flare Up – Excerpt

Novel Addiction – Review & Excerpt

Naughty Book Eden – Excerpt

Reviews from the Heart – Review & Excerpt

Socially Awkward Book Nerd – Excerpt

July 21st

Jill Miller – Review & Excerpt

Bookalicious Babes Blog – Review & Excerpt

Alpha Book Club – Review & Excerpt

Four Chicks Flipping Pages – Review & Excerpt

Short and Sassy Book Blurbs – Review

BJ’s Book Blog – Review

July 22nd

Books, Coffee & Passion – Excerpt

Hart’s Romance Pulse – Excerpt

Limelight’s Books Blog – Review

Sizzling Pages Romance Reviews – Review & Excerpt

NC 2 DC – Review & Excerpt

Shelly’s Book Corner – Review

 

 

The Sapphire Affair - Tour teaser 1

 

 

The Sapphire Heist - cover

Don’t Miss the Second Book, THE SAPPHIRE HEIST, releasing August 16th! Preorder your copy today!

Amazon US Amazon UK Amazon Paperback Amazon AU Amazon CA

Audiobook (narrated by Sebastian York)

 

The Sapphire Affair - Tour teaser 2

 

✮✮✮ Enter to win a $25 Amazon Gift Card and signed set of the THE SAPPHIRE AFFAIR and THE SAPPHIRE HEIST! ✮✮✮

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

Author pic - Lauren BlakelyAbout Lauren Blakely:

Since self-publishing her debut romance novel CAUGHT UP IN US three years ago, Lauren Blakely has sold more than 1 million books. She is known for her sexy contemporary romance style that’s full of heat, heart and humor. A devout fan of cake and canines, Lauren has plotted entire novels while walking her four-legged friends. She lives in California with her family. With ten New York Times bestsellers, her titles have appeared on the New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal Bestseller Lists more than fifty times. Her bestselling series include Sinful Nights, Seductive Nights, No Regrets, Caught Up in Love, and Fighting Fire as well as standalone romantic comedies like BIG ROCK and MISTER O, which were both instant New York Times Bestsellers. In the fall she’ll release WELL HUNG, another romantic comedy. To receive an email when Lauren releases a new book, sign up for her newsletter: laurenblakely.com/newsletter.

 

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Newsletter | THE SAPPHIRE AFFAIR Goodreads |Lauren Blakely Goodreads

MY THOUGHTS:

Lauren Blakely is one of my very favorite romance authors. I love how each of her books are filled with such unique plots and memorable characters. Not to mention the fact that her romances manage to bring the heat. Anyway, the plot for her new series is one of the most standout concepts that I’ve heard of. The book does end on a cliffhanger, but the story will continue in The Sapphire Heist, which is out in August. I can’t wait to find out if Jake and Steph get the HEA that they both desperately deserve. Though it had some slow moments, I still love the idea of it, and also loved the steamy romance.

Jake was a character who I instantly fell in love with. He’s made so many sacrifices in order to provide for his sisters. Yes, he has to do some rather interesting jobs as a bounty hunter, but it’s all worth it to him in the end. He’s such a selfless and charming dude all around. I just wanted to give him a huge hug honestly. He also has reasons why he doesn’t mix romance with his clients. He was burned by a woman who he fell for in the past who turned out to just be conning him. Now, he finds it difficult to let people in because of that incident. Anyway, I wouldn’t consider him to be my personal favorite Lauren Blakely book boyfriend, but he still definitely managed to make an incredible impression on me.

Steph is similar to Jake in the respect that she also was burned before and is hesitant to jump into a relationship. She’s also just discovered that the only father that she’s ever known is a total con. So clearly this girl has some trust issues, but that’s to be expected to say the least. She’s not my favorite protagonist of Lauren’s because I wasn’t able to fully connect with her on a personal level. However, I still liked her fierce personality.

The romance was totally steamy from the start. Unfortunately, the two don’t meet until around the 20% mark, which bothered me a little bit. I just feel like the beginning was slow and should’ve been marked down at least some. There was certainly insta-love between them once they finally did meet, which never really works for me. All that aside, it still was pretty steamy in general. In the end, it wasn’t my favorite romance, but it worked in some respects.

So ultimately, this was a pretty solid book as a whole. It wasn’t my favorite by Lauren Blakely, but I’m still excited to read the next book in the series. Jake and Steph are both complicated but well developed characters and I can’t wait to see their happy ending! I recommend reading this new romance from an incredible author.

InkSlinger-Blogger-New
three-half-stars

Divider

Mister O Review

May 2, 2016 Reviews 0 ★★★★★

Mister O ReviewMister O by Lauren Blakely
Published by Lauren Blakely Books on May 2nd 2016
Source: Purchased
Also by this author: The Sapphire Affair (Jewel, #1), Well Hung, The Sexy One, The Hot One
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository
Goodreads
five-stars
five-flames
From the NYT Bestselling author of BIG ROCK, comes a hot and hilarious new standalone...
Just call me Mister O. Because YOUR pleasure is my super power.
Making a woman feel ‘oh-god-that’s-good’ is the name of the game, and if a man can’t get the job done, he should get the hell out of the bedroom. I’m talking toe-curling, mind-blowing, sheet-grabbing ecstasy. Like I provide every time.
I suppose that makes me a superhero of pleasure, and my mission is to always deliver.
But then I'm thrown for a loop when a certain woman asks me to teach her everything about how to win a man. The only problem? She's my best friend's sister, but she's far too tempting to resist--especially when I learn that sweet, sexy Harper, has a dirty mind too and wants to put it to good use. What could possibly go wrong as I give the woman I've secretly wanted some no-strings-attached lessons in seduction?
No one will know, even if we send a few dirty sexts. Okay, a few hundred. Or if the zipper on her dress gets stuck. Not on that! Or if she gives me those f*&k-me-eyes on the train in front of her whole family.
The trouble is the more nights I spend with her in bed, the more days I want to spend with her out of bed. And for the first time ever, I'm not only thinking about how to make a woman cry out in pleasure --I'm thinking about how to keep her in my arms for a long time to come.
Looks like the real Adventures of Mister Orgasm have only just begun....**MISTER O is a standalone romantic comedy and it follows supporting characters first introduced in BIG ROCK**

I’ve been waiting to read this one since I read Big Rock a few months back. This book was even more impressive than I was expecting it to be. Lauren Blakely is an amazing author and I will read anything that she publishes. However, I have to say that this is definitely her personal best book to date, in my opinion. I was beyond surprised by how this author managed to masterfully pull off writing from the male’s perspective a second consecutive book in a row. She gets inside the heads of these complicated and lovable guys in such a real and funny way. It’s safe to say that Master O only made me love Blakely’s works even more. She’s definitely on my auto-buy author list now.

 This was one of the best books that I’ve read in a long time! The plot isn’t anything all that different. The main character falls in love with his best friend’s little sister. My favorite part though was the plot about the little sister asking him to teach her how to be good with guys. This isn’t all that unique either, but it’s still entertaining and something that I personally found enjoyable to read about. The plot also deals with Nick’s job and basically him trying to figure out the things in life that are most important to him. So it’s not anything overly complicated, but it works, and that’s what really counts to me. 

Nick is a fabulous main character and I loved being inside his head. I feel like a lot of contemporary romance novels are either from the female’s POV or are dual POV’s. I enjoy both of those narration styles, but I also feel like we get to know the male character on a whole new level. I loved how creative Nick is. He draws inspiration for his cartoon from his favorite muse – women, pleasuring them, to get more specific. Nick is a little on the nerdy side and girls didn’t really notice him. Now his little cartoon has grown into this huge dirty adult cartoon about a superhero that gives women orgasms. This dude also happens to be a pro dirty talker. Seriously, it’s actually pretty impressive what he ends up saying to Harper at times. So yeah, he’s a really charming guy, but he’s also completely genuine at the same time. 

The object of his affection is Harper, who is a complicated and awesome character. I loved that Harper is a magician at kid’s parties. She’s also extremely shy and unable to properly communicate with guys that she likes. Immediately, I related to her because that’s exactly how I am too. In a total contrast, she’s also a total dirty talker and she ends up sending Nick some very dirty texts. She’s basically a walking contradiction, but I loved that she wasn’t a predictable heroine. 

The relationship between them is a huge reason why I was so captivated by the novel. They start out as just being friends since Nick is her brother Spencer’s best friend. However, they start hanging out more frequently and the attraction between them becomes more difficult to ignore. It was pretty slow burning, I didn’t feel like anything was rushed anyway. I’m not always a fan of any “fake relationships” but this one had a different spin that totally worked for me. 

All in all, I can’t think of anything that I didn’t like about this book. It was funny, fast paced, memorable supporting characters, and even more. I’m such a fan of Harper and Nick as a couple. They are definitely one of my favorite book couples of the year. I recommend this if you want something that fairly light on drama. I absolutely can’t wait for the next book in the series, and I also want to read the books that will be featuring some of these other supporting characters. This book was amazing and I’d read it again in a heartbeat. 

five-stars

Divider