Author: Kristen Callihan

Divider

ARC Review: The Hot Shot

April 19, 2017 Reviews 0 ★★★★

ARC Review: The Hot ShotThe Hot Shot (Game On, #4) by Kristen Callihan
on April 18th 2017
Pages: 223
Source: InkSlinger PR
Also by this author: The Hook Up (Game On, #1), The Friend Zone (Game On, #2), The Game Plan (Game On, #3), Idol (VIP, #1), Managed (VIP, #2)
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository
Goodreads
four-stars

I received this book for free from InkSlinger PR in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

First we were friends. Then we were roommates. Now I want more…What can I say about Chess Copper? The woman is capable of bringing me to my knees. I know this about five minutes after getting naked for her.No one is more surprised than me. The prickly photographer my team hired to shoot our annual charity calendar isn’t my usual type. She’s defense to my offense, a challenge at every turn. But when I’m with her, all the regrets and darkness goes away. She makes life fun.
I want to know Chess, be close to her. Which is a bad idea.
Chess is looking for a relationship. I’ve never given a woman more than one night. But when fate leaves Chess without a home, I step up and offer her mine. We’re roommates now. Friends without benefits. But it’s getting harder to keep our hands off each other. And the longer we live together the more I realize she’s becoming my everything.
Trick is… Now that I’ve made her believe I’m a bad bet, how do I convince her to give this player a true shot at forever?

Wow, this was really awesome! Then again, I’ve come to expect nothing less than absolutely amazing from Kristen Callihan. She’s just one of those authors for me that never fails to write beautiful romances that sweep me off my feet. She also writes some of the most memorable characters that I’ve ever came across. Finn and Chess were both such lovable characters, and I loved the relationship that they slowly but surely built as the book progressed. I highly recommend this one if you’re looking for a sports romance or just a fast paced romance in general. If you’ve never read anything from this author before, what are you waiting for? I promise that you’ll probably adore her works if you’re a fan of fun and realistic romances that have some steam thrown in there for good measure. I can’t wait to see what she writes next.

Chess was a wonderful heroine. She has such a strong personality that you can’t help but adore. She’s a unique woman who isn’t afraid to be herself. Honestly, I can’t think of all that much about her that I didn’t absolutely love. She’s just a naturally likable person from the very first page. I loved how she wasn’t afraid to say what she thought, and she didn’t let anyone walk all over her. Chess shared some similarities with some of Callihan’s past heroines, but at the same time she was so different from them in all the right ways. She’s her own person, and she’ll stick with you long after you finish reading this.

Finn was such a sweetheart. I wasn’t sure if I’d like him at first, but there was any need for me to doubt. I quickly fell in love with Finn. He wasn’t a douchebag by any means, instead he was an extremely loving and caring guy all around. I’m always going to have a thing for football players, so the QB of an NFL football team definitely didn’t disappoint. He was a true leader, who was also an amazing teammate and I loved seeing some of the same guys that we saw from the last couple of books. I don’t know if I liked him more than Drew, Grey, or Dex, but he was still an excellent guy who I loved getting to know more.

The romance between Finn and Chess is easily my favorite part of the book. I love that they have this instant banter from the first time that they meet, though they didn’t seem to like each other much at the time. Anyway, they slowly become close friends which obviously develops into more. This is certainly a book that has a slow burn to it, and I thought that was a fitting choice from Callihan. Once they finally had sex, it was totally electric. They most certainly have some serious chemistry, that’s for sure.

This fourth book in the Game On series is just as lovely as I was hoping it would be. While I’d still say that the last one is probably my favorite, this one is still just as amazing and memorable as I hoped it would be. Callihan is an author who never ever disappoints. I’m so happy that she introduced us to Finn and Chess, they were both such unique characters. This was a fast paced read that I managed to finish in just a few sittings. I’m happy that I read this one and I hope that you give it a shot as well!

four-stars

Divider

ARC Review: Managed

November 15, 2016 Reviews 0 ★★★★

ARC Review: ManagedManaged (VIP, #2) by Kristen Callihan
on November 14th, 2016
Pages: 304
Source: InkSlinger PR
Also by this author: The Hook Up (Game On, #1), The Friend Zone (Game On, #2), The Game Plan (Game On, #3), Idol (VIP, #1), The Hot Shot (Game On, #4)
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository
Goodreads
four-stars
three-half-flames

I received this book for free from InkSlinger PR in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

It started off as a battle of wits. Me: the ordinary girl with a big mouth against Him: the sexy bastard with a big...ego.
I thought I’d hit the jackpot when I was upgraded to first class on my flight to London.
That is until HE sat next to me. Gabriel Scott: handsome as sin, cold as ice. Nothing and no one gets to him. Ever. He’s a legend in his own right, the manager of the biggest rock band in the world, and an arrogant ass who looks down his nose at me.
I thought I’d give him hell for one, long flight. I didn’t expect to like him. I didn’t expect to want him. But the biggest surprise? He wants me too. Only in a way I didn’t see coming.
If I accept his proposal, I leave myself open to falling for the one man I can’t manage. But I’m tempted to say yes. Because the real man beneath those perfect suits and that cool façade just might be the best thing that’s ever happened to me. And I just might be the only one who can melt the ice around his heart.
Let the battle begin…

Kristen Callihan is one of my favorite authors. She’s great at writing fascinating plots filled with these eccentric and memorable characters. In my book, she can do no wrong. I thought that Idol was a fabulous start to this new series of hers that follows a band of guys and the girls that bring them to their knees. I couldn’t wait for Scotty’s story. He’s the boy’s manager who seems extremely stuck up and cranky. Sophie Darling is a new character, but she’s definitely the best possible match for Scotty.

You guys, Sophie is absolutely hilarious. From her first encounter with Scotty on the plane, everything that she says is just so funny and witty. Sophie is one woman who isn’t scared of telling you exactly like it is. She’s a fantastic, fun, and bright character who I truly adored. Though she has a shameful past due to her old job, she’s doing the best she can to make up for that. Sophie is the total opposite of literally everything that Gabriel or Scotty represents, and that’s why they turn out to be so good together.

We know him by Scotty, but Sophie prefers to call him by his actual name, which is Gabriel. In Idol, he was this cold yet beautiful man who no one could really figure out. He’s been friends with the guys in the band for such a long time now, but he doesn’t even let them in all of the way. The more we learn about Gabriel, the more we love him. The reasons why he’s so guarded become more and more clear to us as the book progresses, and it was such a beautiful thing when he finally let Sophie in. Surprisingly enough, Gabriel is actually a pretty romantic and swoony dude when it comes to his girl. Despite his issues and insecurities, he’s an incredible book boyfriend.

The romance between Sophie and Gabriel was so amazing because of the tension that builds from their very first encounter. It takes them quite awhile to actually get together, but it’s wonderful once they finally do. I think that they make such a strong couple because they started off as just being friends until it slowly developed into much more. I always like it when a relationship doesn’t develop too quickly. In my opinion, this one happened at the exact right pace. They had such fabulous banter from the start, so the tension was so real and witty. If you can’t already tell, they were such a great couple.

This was yet another excellent Kristen Callihan novel that I truly enjoyed. I can’t wait to read the next book in this series. I’m hoping that it will be Jax, since he’s been talking a lot about how he’ll never find love like his two friends have, so hopefully he’ll meet his match next! Sophie and Gabriel had such a strong and fun romance that I loved reading about from the start. I highly recommend this book if you’re a fan of this author, love books that follow bands, or are looking for a story that will make you laugh.

Excerpt:

In all this time, I had yet to see Gabriel without a shirt. He hides his body like a pious Victorian, never letting me see anything other than him fully dressed and polished. Now I know why. Had he let me get a glimpse, I might never have been able to form a coherent thought around him.

This man’s chest is a work of art. It’s every fantasy I’ve had about a man’s body made real. I don’t even know how that’s possible, but I’m not about to complain. God, he looks touchable. Olive skin, tight little brownish nipples, a smattering of dark chest hair over the most incredibly honed—

“You’re staring.” His tone is dry.

“Yes, I am.” I drag my eyes up and find his expression bemused.

A thick brow lifts. I try to mimic the look and fail when both of my brows lift as one. His lips twitch in amusement.

He shifts his weight, causing his abs to clench. Good Lord. He’s not some overdeveloped gym worshiper, just solid and strong, that perfect balance between defined musculature and healthy male—

“You’re still staring, Sophie.”

“You think it’s easy looking away from all this splendor?” I ask his belly button, licking my lips when he huffs out a laugh and just a little bit more of his lower abs are revealed, slanting toward the thick bulge of his cock, which is lamentably hidden behind his slacks.

“You’re impossible,” he mutters, though there is humor in his voice. He strolls farther into the room and then practically kills me when he sits in one of the low-slung armchairs. That body, sprawled out on display, those thick, long thighs braced as if to take me in his lap—it’s too much.

I want to straddle him and lick my way from the hollow of his throat to the tip of his cock.

He eyes me as if he knows what I’m thinking, and the air thickens. So many things we left unsaid. I’m remembering his lips now, surprisingly soft, but strong with purpose.

From the way his lids lower, I wonder if he’s remembering things as well. But he doesn’t move. Tension glides over his body and snakes around the room. I feel it in my throat and down my spine. We’re closing up again, retreating.

Slowly, I toe off my shoes and set my gear down, never breaking eye contact. “I was being completely honest,” I tell him. “I see you like this and I want to stare forever.”

He snorts, shaking his head even as he rests his temple on his knuckles. “What do you mean ‘like this’?”

“Undone.”

He tenses. It does lovely things to that chest. I focus on his face, mainly to maintain some semblance of decorum.

“You think this is me undone?” he asks quietly.

“It’s a start.” I reach for my camera bag. “Will you let me photograph you?”

There is safety to be found with the camera between us. A way for both of us to hide until we’re comfortable around each other again.

“You’re serious?”

“You sound surprised.” Holding my camera, I sit in the sofa opposite him. “Don’t tell me no one has asked to take your picture before.”

“They’ve asked. I never saw the point.” He shrugs. “I’m not the story.”

You’re my story. You always were.

“This is just for me,” I say instead. “No one else.”

His shrewd gaze pins me. “Why do you want this?”

So I can have a bit of you forever. “Pictures capture moments in time. I want this one—when you finally let me see a sliver of the man behind the clothes.”

His nostrils flare on an indrawn breath, and he slowly lets it out. When he speaks, his voice is a rasp. “Take the pictures.”

 

 

 

managed-teaser-3

 

 

KCauthor

Kristen Callihan is an author because there is nothing else she’d rather be. She is a three-time RITA nominee and winner of two RT Reviewer’s Choice awards. Her novels have garnered starred reviews from Publisher’s Weekly and the Library Journal, as well as being awarded top picks by many reviewers. Her debut book FIRELIGHT received RT Magazine’s Seal of Excellence, was named a best book of the year by Library Journal , best book of Spring 2012 by Publisher’s Weekly, and was named the best romance book of 2012 by ALA RUSA. When she is not writing, she is reading.

WEBSITE / FACEBOOK / TWITTER / AMAZON AUTHOR PAGE

four-stars

Divider

Blog Tour: Idol Review

June 12, 2016 Blog Tours, Reviews 2 ★★★★

Blog Tour: Idol ReviewIdol (VIP, #1) by Kristen Callihan
on June 7th, 2016
Source: InkSlinger PR
Also by this author: The Hook Up (Game On, #1), The Friend Zone (Game On, #2), The Game Plan (Game On, #3), Managed (VIP, #2), The Hot Shot (Game On, #4)
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository
Goodreads
four-stars

I received this book for free from InkSlinger PR in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Libby
I found Killian drunk and sprawled out on my lawn like some lost prince. With the face of a god and the arrogance to match, the pest won’t leave. Sexy, charming, and just a little bit dirty, he’s slowly wearing me down, making me crave more.
He could be mine if I dare to claim him. Problem is, the world thinks he’s theirs. How do you keep an idol when everyone is intent on taking him away?
Killian
As lead singer for the biggest rock band in the world, I lived a life of dreams. It all fell apart with one fateful decision. Now everything is in shambles.
Until Liberty. She’s grouchy, a recluse —and kind of cute. Scratch that. When I get my hands on her, she is scorching hot and more addictive than all the fans who’ve screamed my name.
The world is clamoring for me to get back on stage, but I’m not willing to leave her. I’ve got to find a way to coax the hermit from her shell and keep her with me. Because, with Libby, everything has changed. Everything.

Personally, I’m a sucker for a solid rock star romance. Kristen Callihan completely won me over with her awesome football NA series Game On, so I had high hopes that this would be just as steamy and addicting. No worries, Callihan was definitely able to deliver with Idol. So if you enjoy New Adult books that are filled with fabulous music references and a romance that you can totally cheer for, you’ve got to pick this one up! I can’t wait to read the rest of the books in this new series.

Libby is a woman who lives an isolated life. She crosses paths with Killian when he shows up drunk on her lawn. Much to her initial dismay, he turns out to be staying at the house next door to her. Gradually, the two begin to get to know each other better and strike up an unlikely friendship. Oh yeah, Killian also just so happens to be the lead singer of one of the most popular bands in the world (Libby didn’t initially recognize him and it took awhile for her to find out the truth) and he eventually has to go back on tour. Libby has always dreamed about being a singer, and she bonds with Killian through playing the guitar and writing songs. Thanks to Killian, music begins to play an even larger role in Libby’s life. But is fame all that it’s cracked up to be?

So Libby is a heroine who definitely isn’t afraid to speak her mind. I love how she stood up to Killian from the very beginning, and she never hesitated to tell him when he was being a jerk or whatever. While I did love her character in the beginning, I wasn’t a huge fan of some of her choices later on. I get that Libby has suffered a huge amount of loss in her life, like the deaths of her mother and father. At the same time though, I still feel like she didn’t have a lot of character growths in some areas. Honestly, it’s tough to talk too much about it without spoiling anything, but I’ll just say that she wasn’t my favorite in the end.

Killian was an amazing and unbelievably swoony love interest. There’s not much about this guy that I didn’t love. A lot has happened to Killian and his bandmates that ended up driving him to drink so much and also step away from the band for a pretty long time. In the end, he was still able to overcome the bad and get back to writing songs. Though he does strike up a friendship with Libby before anything deeper happens between them, he’s still extremely clear about the way he feels about her. Meaning, he never messes around with any other girls like a lot of the rock stars in NA books tend to do.

I really enjoyed the fairly slow build romance between Killian and Libby. I liked that Killian was able to find inspiration through Libby, and write songs with her. I feel like this is kind of a spoiler so I won’t go into a lot of details, but I didn’t like that Libby made the choice to hide their relationship from some people who were very important to Killian. I think it put him in an awkward position, and I didn’t really like seeing that. Overall though, the romance was still super swoony and I did love them as a couple.

Idol was a fascinating and well written rock star romance from Kristen Callihan. This author has proved once again why I find her books so entertaining. This book is very much character driven, and I found them all to be incredibly complex. Besides the main characters, I also really liked the supporting characters, like Killian’s bandmates, his cousin, and the band’s manager. It looks like the next book in the series will focus on the manager, which I can’t wait to see. Be sure to buy this one if you love music and steamy romances!

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

KCauthor

Kristen Callihan is an author because there is nothing else she’d rather be. She is a three-time RITA nominee and winner of two RT Reviewer’s Choice awards. Her novels have garnered starred reviews from Publisher’s Weekly and the Library Journal, as well as being awarded top picks by many reviewers. Her debut book FIRELIGHT received RT Magazine’s Seal of Excellence, was named a best book of the year by Library Journal, best book of Spring 2012 by Publisher’s Weekly, and was named the best romance book of 2012 by ALA RUSA. When she is not writing, she is reading.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Amazon Author Page

four-stars

Divider

Game On Series Review

November 8, 2015 Reviews 0 ★★★★

Game On Series ReviewThe Hook Up (Game On, #1) by Kristen Callihan
on September 7th, 2014
Pages: 352
Source: Purchased
Also by this author: Idol (VIP, #1), Managed (VIP, #2), The Hot Shot (Game On, #4)
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository
Goodreads
four-stars
five-flames
The rules: no kissing on the mouth, no staying the night, no telling anyone, and above all… No falling in love
Anna Jones just wants to finish college and figure out her life. Falling for star quarterback Drew Baylor is certainly not on her to do list. Confident and charming, he lives in the limelight and is way too gorgeous for his own good. If only she could ignore his heated stares and stop thinking about doing hot and dirty things with him. Easy, right?
Too bad he’s committed to making her break every rule…
Football has been good to Drew. It’s given him recognition, two National Championships, and the Heisman. But what he really craves is sexy yet prickly Anna Jones. Her cutting humor and blatant disregard for his fame turns him on like nothing else. But there’s one problem: she's shut him down. Completely.
That is until a chance encounter leads to the hottest sex of their lives, along with the possibility of something great. Unfortunately, Anna wants it to remain a hook up. Now it’s up to Drew to tempt her with more: more sex, more satisfaction, more time with him. Until she’s truly hooked. It's a good thing Drew knows all about winning.
All’s fair in love and football…Game on

As I’m sure you can already tell, I love sports romance novels. I particularly love New Adult stories that revolve around football. Sure, some of them have similar plots, but I still find them amazing reads. Plus there hasn’t been a male lead in these books that I haven’t more or less blatantly drooled over. So I’d heard a lot of positive things about the Game On series, so I was anxious to read it. Let me just start off by making it clear that each and every one of these books certainly didn’t let me down. I loved every page of these mesmerizing novels.

The first book in the series is “The Hook Up.” Drew Baylor is the hot quarterback on campus who everyone is obsessed with. From the first page, I was certainly painted a picture of a gorgeous and overconfident boy who was not short on charm. He’s not perfect, but I’d say that he comes extremely close to it. Drew is seriously devoted to Anna, which is always something that I love to see, especially in New Adult novels. It reminded me a lot of Cam Hamilton from the Wait For You books. I know that I literally just made this comparison yesterday in my review of “This Ordinary Life,” but I needed to make it again. Anna did bother me a bit because who wouldn’t want to be with someone as attentive and caring as Drew? However, I did understand her insecurity due to who she was back in high school. She felt like she didn’t measure up against all of the other girls on campus, and felt like everyone was judging her for not being good enough for Drew.

I think that this is a must read for those of you that can’t get enough of the New Adult genre. There’s a ton of steamy sex scenes in this book, but there’s also a really complicated but also a strong and pretty real relationship between two college students who are still trying to figure out who they are.

Game On Series ReviewThe Friend Zone (Game On, #2) by Kristen Callihan
on May 5th, 2015
Also by this author: Idol (VIP, #1), Managed (VIP, #2), The Hot Shot (Game On, #4)
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository
Goodreads
four-half-stars
four-half-flames

Gray doesn’t make friends with women. He has sex with them. Until Ivy.
The last thing star tight-end Gray Grayson wants to do is drive his agent’s daughter’s bubblegum pink car. But he needs the wheels and she’s studying abroad. Something he explains when she sends him an irate text to let him know exactly how much pain she’ll put him in if he crashes her beloved ride. Before he knows it, Ivy Mackenzie has become his best texting bud. But then Ivy comes home and everything goes haywire. Because the only thing Gray can think of is being with Ivy.
Ivy doesn’t have sex with friends. Especially not with a certain football player. No matter how hot he makes her…
Gray drives Ivy crazy. He’s irreverent, sex on a stick, and completely off limits. Because, Ivy has one golden rule: never get involved with one of her father’s clients. A rule that’s proving harder to keep now that Gray is doing his best to seduce her. Her best friend is fast becoming the most irresistible guy she’s ever met.
Which means Gray is going to have to use all his skills to get himself out of the friend zone and into Ivy’s heart. Game on

I wasn’t sure if I’d love Gray’s story as much as I loved Drew’s. I found myself pleasantly surprised by how fascinated I was by him and Ivy as a couple. Truthfully, Gray and Ivy are one of the best New Adult couples that I’ve ever seen. What made it so special? Well, the gradual buildup between the pair who became friends to being in a relationship was absolutely incredible. The banter and trust that the two have before they even become a couple is unique and unlike most books that I’ve read. I didn’t want this book to ever end really!

Like Drew was with Anna, Gray was also super loyal to Ivy, even when they were just friends. He had even more of a reputation than Drew, which initially made me nervous that he would hook up with some random girl to get over Ivy since they weren’t technically together, but he never did. Ivy is also a compelling character who I really enjoyed from beginning to end. I think Ivy is awesome because she’s totally passionate about football (duh her dad is a sports agent so she grew up around it) and also a bit on the awkward side. She’s ridiculously tall, which makes her dancing not so great, but I thought the dancing scenes between her and Gray were hilarious.

So in short, go read this novel right away! It doesn’t have as much drama as the first book in the series, which I found refreshing. “The Friend Zone” also has many steamy scenes, which is definitely enjoyable. This was a beautifully written novel that made me want to read more and more books in this series.

Game On Series ReviewThe Game Plan (Game On, #3) by Kristen Callihan
on November 1st, 2015
Also by this author: Idol (VIP, #1), Managed (VIP, #2), The Hot Shot (Game On, #4)
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository
Goodreads
five-stars
five-flames

A beard-related dare and one hot-as-hell kiss changes everything.
NFL center Ethan Dexter’s focus has always been on playing football and little else. Except when it comes to one particular woman. The lovely Fiona Mackenzie might not care about his fame, but she’s also never looked at him as anything more than one of her brother-in-law’s best friends. That ends now.
Fi doesn’t know what to make of Dex. The bearded, tattooed, mountain of man-muscle looks more like a biker than a football player. Rumor has it he’s a virgin, but she finds that hard to believe. Because from the moment he decides to turn his quiet intensity on her she’s left weak at the knees and aching to see his famous control fully unleashed.
Fi ought to guard her heart and walk away; they live vastly different lives in separate cities. And Dex is looking for a forever girl. But Dex has upped his game and is using all his considerable charm to convince Fi he's her forever man.
Game On

Can I just start off by saying that Ethan Dexter is basically perfect? I know I already said that Drew Baylor is the perfect one, but Dex comes scary close. I think it’s so adorable that he has been so set on Fiona, even though he’s only been around her a few times. Okay, now that I’m typing that, it seems creepier than it is, but if you read it then you’ll know what I mean! Ethan has always been known as the quiet guy who is a complete beast of a center on the football field. In “The Friend Zone,” Fiona was kind of on the immature side, but she has grown up in the past two years and is just as drawn to Dex as he is to her.

I didn’t connect to Fi like I did with her big sister Ivy, or even how I did with Anna. That might just be me, but I did love how feisty and confident she was. I also liked that at times she had no idea what she wanted out of life, because that’s a VERY real thing. I could probably spend this whole review on Dex alone, but I’ll do my best to not rant all that much. He’s a virgin, which is rare for this genre. Side note: this is only the second one I’ve seen, but I think it’s unique that both of those characters were college (and NFL for Dex) football players. So back to our boy, he just might be my favorite of the three men. Though he’s quiet, he still leaves an impression and he knows that he wants Fiona so he doesn’t hesitate to go for her after several years of pining for her.

I’m not ready for this series to end, but if it did, I’d be satisfied with this incredible book being the final chapter in these characters’ stories. I think you should read the first two novels first, but then definitely check out this one immediately after. You’ll be happy to see more of the familiar characters that we’ve grown acquainted with throughout the series. This is a great book and I’m still not over the greatness that is Ethan Dexter!

four-stars

Divider